Lobos Recognized By New Mexico Legislature in Santa Fe
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/10/2010

Feb. 10, 2010

SANTA FE, N.M. --- Four University of New Mexico athletics teams were recognized this morning at the 2010 New Mexico Legislative Session in Santa Fe, N.M. Representative Henry `Kiki' Saavedra and Senator Michael Sanchez introduced the Lobo guests in their respective chambers.

• Head ski coach Fredrik Landstedt and junior Nordic skier Martin Kaas were recognized for New Mexico's 2009 Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association championship and current No. 1 national ranking. The Lobos had eight skiers earn 11 All-America honors at NCAAs. Kaas has won five of six races in 2010 and was a 2009 All-American.

• Head cross country/track & field coach Joe Franklin and junior Vanessa Ortiz were recognized for the Lobos' sweep of the 2009 Mountain West Conference men's and women's cross country titles. Franklin was named the MWC Coach of the Year for both teams. Ortiz, an Albuquerque native, was one of 13 all-MWC runners for UNM in 2009 and a key component of the Lobos women's team that has made back-to-back appearances at the NCAA Cross Country Championships.

• Head women's golf coach Jill Trujillo, from Silver City, N.M., and senior Jodi Ewart were recognized for UNM's 2009 Mountain West Conference championship. Trujillo was named MWC Coach of the Year. Ewart, a Futures Tour qualifier, has been the MWC Player of the Year for three consecutive seasons and a first team All-American.

• Head men's tennis coach Alan Dils, from Belen, N.M., and former Lobo Johnny Parkes were recognized for UNM's 2009 Mountain West Conference championship. Dils was named MWC Coach of the Year, while Parkes, currently a Lobo student assistant coach, was the 2009 MWC Player of the Year and advanced to the NCAA Tournament as an individual.