New Mexico Center Dillon Farrell Named to Rimington Watch List
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/20/2011
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 20, 2011

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- University of New Mexico sophomore center Dillon Farrell has been named to the 2011 Rimington Trophy watch list. Farrell is one of four Mountain West football student-athletes to be considered candidates for the nation’s top center award. He started every game last season as a redshirt freshman and is expect to be a key contributor this fall for the Lobos. The Mountain West’s four candidates are the third most of any league. The Rimington Trophy watch list consists of 42 Football Bowl Subdivision players.

Joining Farrell from the MW are Thomas Byrd (Boise State), Weston Richburg (Colorado State) and Nick Carlson (Wyoming). Last season, former TCU center Jake Kirkpatrick received the 2010 Rimington Trophy to become the first center from a non-BCS institution to receive the award.

About the Rimington Trophy
The Rimington Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding center in NCA A Division I-A football. The eleven-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from four existing All-America Teams:

• American Football Coaches Association (AFCA)
• Walter Camp Foundation
• Sporting News
• Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrophy.com.

The following is a list of those named to the 2011 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List.

Chris Anzevino Kent State 6'2" 305 Senior

Eloy Atkinson UTEP 6'3" 300 Junior

Mario Benavides Louisville 6'4"; 305 Junior

Philip Blake Baylor 6'2" 315 Senior

Ben Bojicic Bowling Green 6'4" 295 Senior

Colin Boss Middle Tennessee State 6'4" 306 RS Senior

Mike Brewster Ohio State 6'5" 305 Senior

Terence Brown BYU 6'4" 330 Senior

Ben Burkett Northwestern 6'4" 300 Senior

Thomas Byrd Boise State 5'11" 288 Senior

Mike Caputo Nebraska 6'1" 275 Senior

Nick Carlson Wyoming 6'4" 292 Junior

Tom Castilaw Arkansas State 6'3" 280 RS Senior

Braxton Cave Notre Dame 6'3" 303 Senior

Trent Dupy Tulsa 6'2" 285 Junior

Dillon Farrell New Mexico 6'5" 290 Sophomore

James Ferentz Iowa 6'2" 284 Junior

Dalton Freeman Clemson 6'5" 285 Junior

Kevin Galeher Western Michigan 6'4" 312 Junior

Grant Garner Oklahoma State 6'3" 289 Senior

Garth Gerhart Arizona State 6'2" 295 RS Senior

Jeremiah Hatch Kansas 6'3" 332 Senior

A.J. Hawkins Mississippi 6'3" 313 Junior

Cam Holland North Carolina 6'2" 320 Senior

Tyler Horn Miami 6'4" 305 Senior

Grant Johnson Oregon State 6'3" 293 Senior

T.J. Johnson South Carolina 6'5" 305 Sophomore

Ben Jones Georgia 6'3" 300 Junior

Peter Konz Wisconsin 6'5" 313 RS Junior

Tyler Larsen Utah State 6'4" 297 Sophomore

P.J. Lonergan LSU 6'4" 300 Junior

Joe Madsen West Virginia 6'4" 300 RS Junior

Kai Maiava UCLA 6'1" 318 RS Senior

Blake McJunkin SMU 6'2" 290 Senior

David Molk Michigan 6'2" 288 RS Senior

Brian Moore Duke 6'2" 275 RS Junior

Weston Richburg Colorado State 6'4" 302 Sophomore

Matt Smith Kentucky 6'4" 297 Junior

Darion Smith UAB 6'2" 280 Senior

Travis Swanson Arkansas 6'5" 305 Sophomore

William Vlachos Alabama 6'1" 294 Senior

Scott Wedige Northern Illinois 6'4" 314 RS Senior