Two Lobos Earn ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Honors
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  11/19/2007
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Nov. 19, 2007

A day after clinching their fourth conference title in a row on the field, two members of the University of New Mexico men's soccer team received high honors for their work in the classroom. Junior Chris Wright and sophomore Simon Ejdemyr both earned spots on the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America team announced by the Collegiate Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) today.

Wright, a 6-5 forward from Fair Oaks, Calif., earned first team Academic All-America honors with a 3.98 grade-point-average, majoring in Portuguese. He currently leads the MPSF in scoring with 28 points on 12 goals and four assists. This is Wright's second appearance on the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America squad after earning second team honors last season. He was a second team All-MPSF performer for the Lobos in 2006.

Ejdemyr, a 6-3 defender from Boras, Sweden, was named third team Academic All-America. He has a 4.11 g.p.a. in General Management. Ejdemyr, a 2006 1st Team All-MPSF selection, is one of the top defenders in the region and has netted four goals this season.

The Lobos have had at least one representative on the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America team each year since 2003. Maryland is the only other school in the country to have at least one student-athlete honored each year during that same stretch.

The Lobos have had 10 student-athletes earn 17 Academic All-America honors in school history. Seven Lobos have won 12 of the awards since current UNM head coach Jeremy Fishbein took over in 2002.

Lobo Academic All-Americans
1985 - David Robertson
1986 - David Robertson
1990 - Steve Farrer
1994 - Jason Hix (GTE & Adidas Honors)
2003 - Ben Ashwill
2004 - Jeff Rowland (1st Team)
2004 - Eric Carlson (1st Team)
2004 - Ben Ashwill (2nd Team)
2004 - Matt Wootton (2nd Team)
2005 - Jeff Rowland (1st Team)
2005 - Ben Ashwill (1st Team)
2005 - Matt Wootton (1st Team)
2005 - Brandon Moss (3rd Team)
2006 - Chris Wright (2nd Team)
2007 - Chris Wright (1st Team)
2007 - Simon Ejdemyr (3rd Team)

Saturday, August 15
7:00 PM -
Men's Soccer
vs. Air Force (Exhibition)
Wednesday, August 19
7:00 PM -
Men's Soccer
vs. Grand Canyon (Exhibition)
Saturday, August 22
7:00 PM -
Men's Soccer
at Denver (Exhibition)