LoboTV
Lobos Down Creighton, 2-1 In Extra Innings
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/22/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 22, 2004

Box Score

DENTON, Texas - It took eight innings but the New Mexico softball team (9-6) won its third straight game, beating Creighton 2-1 at the North Texas/Betlin Round-Up Sunday morning. Freshman Ryanne Hodgins scored the game-winning run on senior Kim Korsak's sac bunt in the top of the eighth.

The Lobos got on the board first in the fourth inning Korsak scored the unearned run from second when senior Ora Hensley singled. Korsak had reached base on shortstop Jamie Reiss' error.

Creighton fought back to tie the game at 1-1 in the bottom of the fifth. Stacey Rybar singled to score Melanie Dorsey who was at second base.

Junior Ashley Perkins pitched seven innings for her third consecutive win. Perkins struck out seven, allowed just six hits and one earned run. Sophomore Iraina Ogas got the save, tossing one inning, striking out one and giving up one walk and hit. Hensley went 2-3 with one RBI while Korsak was 0-2 but had one RBI and one run scored.

Getting the loss, Creighton's Tammy Nielsen pitched eight innings, giving up five hits, four walks and striking out eight. Dorsey led the team going 1-3 with one run scored.

New Mexico finishes tournament competition at 3 p.m. CST against Oklahoma State.

Thursday, April 17
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Friday, April 18
3:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Saturday, April 19
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Tuesday, April 22
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State (DH)
Wednesday, April 23
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News