Nine Lobos Named to RMISA All-conference teams
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/02/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 2, 2010

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- Nine University of New Mexico skiers were named to the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association All-Conference Teams today as announced by the league office. The Lobos, currently ranked No. 2 in the latest SkiRacing.com Power Rankings, placed five skiers on first teams and three on second teams. UNM had the second-largest group of all-conference honorees behind No. 1 ranked Colorado with 12.

Seniors Malin Hemmingsson and Polina Ermoshina earned the fourth all-RMISA honors of their careers, while juniors Thomas Schwab and Simon Reissmann were named for the third time. Sophomore Petter Brenna is making his second appearance on the all-RMISA team. Junior Martin Kaas and freshmen Anne Cecilie Brusletto, Kate Williams and Pierre Niess are making their first appearance on the post-season honors list.

Women's Alpine ... First team - Malin Hemmingsson, Anne Cecilie Brusletto; Second team - Kate Williams ... Hemmingsson, a senior from Ostersund, Sweden, won four races during the season - 3 slalom (Utah, Nevada and RMISAQ) and 1 giant slalom (Montana State). She ranks second on the UNM women's Alpine career wins list with 8 ... Brusletto, a freshman from Oslo, Norway, won four races during her rookie season - 3 giant slalom (Nevada, RMISAQ and Regionals) and 1 slalom (New Mexico). She is tied for the lead on the UNM women's Alpine season wins list with 3 (Agneta Hjorth, 1992) ... Williams, a freshman from Park City, Utah, recorded season-best third-place slalom finishes at Montana State and New Mexico. She took home-course advantage at the Utah Invitational to record a season-best 10th-place finish in giant slalom.

Men's Alpine ... First team - Petter Brenna, Thomas Schwab ... Brenna, a sophomore from Baerum, Norway, was won four races this season - 2 giant slalom (Montana State and New Mexico) and 2 slalom (New Mexico and Regionals). He has taken over the lead on several UNM men's Alpine lists - career Alpine wins (9) and career slalom wins (5) ... Schwab, a junior from Groebming, Austria, has posted nine top-10 finishes this season, including career-bests in giant slalom (2nd at New Mexico) and slalom (3rd at New Mexico).

Women's Nordic ... First team - Polina Ermoshina ... Ermoshina, a senior from Moscow, Russia, won the New Mexico classic race in her final home appearance as a Lobo and recorded a career-best freestyle finish at Montana State (3rd). She recorded eight top-10 finishes this season.

Men's Nordic ... First team - Martin Kaas; Second team - Pierre Niess, Simon Reissmann ... Kaas, a junior from Oslo, Norway, won five of six races to begin the season and has nine top-10 finishes. His five wins tie for the lead on the UNM men's Nordic career and season wins list ... Reissmann, a junior from Schotten, Germany, recorded eight top-10 finishes this season ... Neiss, a freshman from Strasbourg, France, joined the team during the first week of the Spring semester, only missing one meet. He recorded six top-10 finishes during the season.

The Lobos are spending the week preparing for the 2010 NCAA National Championships in Steamboat Springs, Colo. on March 10-13.

2010 All-RMISA Teams

First Team Women's Alpine
Anne Cecilie Brusletto, New Mexico; Lindsay Cone, Denver; Katie Hartman, Colorado; Malin Hemmingsson, New Mexico; Eva Huckova, Utah.

Second Team Women's Alpine
Erika Ghent, Colorado; Anna Kocken, Utah; Carolina Nordh, Colorado; Alex Parker, Alaska Anchorage; Kate Williams, New Mexico.

First Team Men's Alpine
Andreas Adde, Alaska Anchorage; Petter Brenna, New Mexico; Leif Haugen, Denver; Gabriel Rivas, Colorado; Thomas Schwab, New Mexico.

Second Team Men's Alpine
A.J. Arvin, Denver; Martin Harris, Nevada; Andreas Kilde, Denver; Torjus Krogdahl, Utah; Drew Roberts, Colorado.

First Team Women's Nordic
Kate Dolan, Denver; Polina Ermoshina, New Mexico; Maria Graefnings, Nevada; Eliska Hajkova, Colorado; Antje Maempel, Denver; Laura Rombach, Alaska Anchorage.

Second Team Women's Nordic
Kaelin Kisel, Montana State; Joanne Reid, Colorado; Zoe Roy, Utah, Alexa Turzian, Colorado.

First Team Men's Nordic
Matt Gelso, Colorado; Martin Kaas, New Mexico; Vegard Kjoelhamar, Colorado; Jesper Ostensen, Colorado; Michael Schallinger, Alaska Anchorage.

Second Team Men's Nordic
Miles Havlick, Utah; Harald Lovenskiold, Denver; Pierre Niess, New Mexico; Reid Pletcher, Colorado; Simon Reissmann, New Mexico.