LoboTV
Lobos Fall to Aggies, 17-8
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/03/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 3, 2010

Box Score

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The University of New Mexico Lobo baseball team was defeated, 17-8 by the New Mexico State Aggies this afternoon at Presley Askew Field in Las Cruces. Senior Cameron Smith went 3-for-4 with two RBIs to pace the Lobos at the plate this afternoon. The Lobos fall to 6-3 on the season. New Mexico State improves to 6-5 on the season.

"The difference in the ball game was walks," said Lobo head coach Ray Birmingham. "We didn't pitch real well today. This is the first time that our pitching staff fell apart. We will fix that. We are back in the saddle and we are going to USC to take on the Trojans."

At one point in the game, the Lobos were down 13-1 and fought back to within striking distance at, 13-8. The Aggies scored four unanswered runs in the bottom of the seventh and eighth innings to take the win 17-8.

Five Lobos recorded multiple hits on the day. Senior Cameron Smith led the way for the Lobos going 3-for-4 with two RBIs. Seniors Justin Howard, Chris Juarez, and Daniel Gonzalez and freshman Alex Allbritton each went 2-for-4. Howard and Allbritton each drove in one run.

Sophomore Ben Woodchick went 1-for-3 on the day and had two RBIs. Freshman John Michael Twichell also went 1-for-3 on the day and drove in a run.

Junior Richard Olson (0-2) got the loss for the Lobos giving up four runs on three hits.

The Lobos travel to the University of Southern California on March 5-7. For more information, visit www.GoLobos.com.

Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News