LoboTV
Lindsey Elcess Named Mountain West Conference Player of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/03/2007
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 3, 2007

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - New Mexico junior Lindsey Elcess has been named the Mountain West Conference Softball Player of the Week. Elcess was 6-for-10 at the plate last week and led the Lobos to three victories. Her stellar defensive play and offensive production gives UNM momentum heading into conference play this weekend at Colorado State.

Elcess batted .600 last week in three games for the Lobos while collecting nine RBI. Elcess went 2-for-2 against Eastern New Mexico with six RBI and two runs scored. The Tucson, Ariz., native had three multi-hit games during the week and led the Lobos to a doubleheader sweep over in-state rival New Mexico State. Elcess went 4-for-8 against the Aggies with two doubles. In three games at first base, she was errorless in 19 fielding attempts. Elcess currently ranks ninth in the league in batting average for the season at .349.

The announcement marks the second time in her career Elcess has received the award after earning the honor during the 2005 season. In three seasons at UNM, Elcess has a career batting average over .300 and has recorded 17 home runs. She currently ranks fourth on the all-time home run list.

Elcess and the Lobos continue play this weekend at Colorado State in the MWC opener. UNM battles the Rams Saturday at 1 p.m. with the final game Sunday at noon. For more information about Lobo athletics visit www.GoLobos.com.

Thursday, April 17
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Friday, April 18
3:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Saturday, April 19
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Tuesday, April 22
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State (DH)
Wednesday, April 23
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News