LoboTV
TCU Shuts Out Lobo Baseball, 2-0
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/12/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 12, 2004

Box Score

FORT WORTH, Texas - Preseason Conference USA Pitcher of the Year Clayton Jerome pitched a three- hit complete-game shutout in TCU's 2-0 victory over the New Mexico baseball team Friday night at Lupton Stadium. The Horned Frogs improve to 9-8, while the Lobos slip to 2-10-1.

The Lobos didn't have many scoring opportunties against Jerome (4-1), but threatened to score in the first. With one out, Garrick Haymore walked followed by a Josh Mader double. Joe Salas was then hit by a pitch to load the bases. UNM couldn't take advantage, however, ending the inning with a popout and a groundout.

New Mexico wouldn't get another hit until it got two in a row with two outs in the ninth inning. But with runners on first and second, the Lobos ended the game with a groundout.

UNM starter Danny Ray Herrera (0-3) pitched six solid innings, allowing five hits while striking out four. The only run he surrendered was a sacrifice fly in the sixth.

TCU added another run in the seventh on a series of UNM miscues. The Lobos walked three batters, loading the bases, before sending a run home on a balk.

The Horned Frogs were also cold at the plate, accumulating only six hits, with Sean Stephens collecting two.

New Mexico and TCU return action Saturday, March 13 at 3 p.m. CT.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News