LoboTV
Lobo Baseball Team Receiving Votes in Pre-season Poll
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  12/21/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Dec. 21, 2009

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M.--The University of New Mexico Lobo Baseball team is receiving votes in the Collegiate Baseball Newspaper Top 40 Pre-season Poll released this afternoon. The Lobos finished the 2009 season with an overall record of 37-20 and a second-place finish in the Mountain West Conference. New Mexico returns five starters in the field and five starting pitchers. The Lobos' first opponent of the 2010 season, and 2009 national runner-up, Texas is ranked No. 1 in the poll. 2009 MWC champion TCU is 15th while San Diego State also received votes.

Anchoring the Lobos at the plate and behind the dish will be junior Rafael Neda, who was named to the 2010 Louisville Slugger Pre-season All-America Third Team today. Neda finished the 2009 season hitting .415 with seven homeruns. He was named first-team All-MWC for his efforts last season and looks to be the best catcher in the league for the second straight year. Neda has also been named to the 2010 Pro-Line Athletic All-America Third Team.

Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News