LoboTV
Black Team Wins Lobo World Series
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  10/31/2003
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Oct. 31, 2003

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The Black team defeated the Gray 13-9 in game three of the Lobo World Series Thursday afternoon (Oct. 30) at Lobo Field to sweep the best-of-five series. The Black team won game one 8-3 and game two 8-2.

Freshman Garrett Boyd (La Quinta, Calif.) hit a two-run homer in the fifth inning for the Black team and added an RBI single in the third. Freshman Jay Russell (Pflugerville, Texas) contributed two hits and a run while juniors Matt Young (Murphy, Texas) and Jeff Grady (Albuquerque, N.M./Cibola HS) each scored three runs. Senior Josh Mader (Albuquerque, N.M./Cibola HS) knocked in three runs with two sacrifice fly's and a RBI single.

For the Gray, freshman Tim Grady (Albuquerque, N.M./Cibola HS) and freshman Daniel Stovall (Midland, Texas) collected two hits. Stovall, Chad Itokazu (Fr., Pearl City, Hawaii) and Josh Cordova (Fr., El Paso, Texas) all had two RBI, while Stovall scored three times and Itokazu scored twice.

The Black team jumped out to a 10-3 lead after three innings. The Gray scored twice in the fourth, but the Black team bounced back with three in the fifth. The Gray team then scored four runs in the sixth inning to cut the lead to four runs, but the game was called due to darkness.

The Lobos begin their regular season Feb. 20-22 when they host the Albuquerque Baseball Tournament at Isotopes Park.

Sunday, March 01
10:30 AM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley vs. San Francisco
1:30 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
E-News