Nine Lobos Earn Arhur Ashe Sports Scholars Honors
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  06/10/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

June 10, 2008

Nine University of New Mexico student-athletes were named 2008 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars in this week's Diverse: Issues in Higher Education magazine. The Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars Awards were created to honor minority undergraduate students who have made achieving both academically and athletically a winning combination.

Inspired by tennis legend Arthur Ashe Jr.'s commitment to education as well as his love for the game of tennis, every college and university in the country is eligible to nominate student-athletes for recognition. In addition to their athletic ability, Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars must exhibit academic excellence and community activism. To be included, students have to compete in an intercollegiate sport, maintain a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.2 and be active in their campuses or in their communities.

Lobo baseball was represented by senior Ian Hollick and junior Bobby Moore. Sophomore Roman Martinez was named to the second team in the men's basketball group while senior Brandi Kimble earned a spot on the women's basketball second team. Senior George Carter and junior Thomas Littleton made football's second team while redshirt-freshman Katie McKernan and Markee Norbriga made the women's soccer fourth team. Sophomore Jason Petty made the first team for Track & Field athletes.