Lobos Are The Only Undefeated MWC Team With 5-2 Win Over UNLV
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/10/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 10, 2004

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - After building a 4-0 lead, the 67th-ranked New Mexico men's tennis team (11-5, 2-0) cruised to a 5-2 win over the Mountain West Conference leading No. 70 UNLV Rebels today at the UNM Tennis Club. The Lobos are now the only undefeated team in the conference.

Senior Divan Coetzee, ranked No. 27, won his fourth straight singles match in the first spot, crushing Aviram Salomon 6-0, 6-1. Coetzee is now 91-29 in his singles career at UNM and just five matches from tying Pepe Caballero for the most wins in New Mexico men's tennis history. Caballero went 96-56 from 1995-99. On the season, Coetzee is 32-9 overall and 14-4 at No. 1. He needs three more wins to break the season singles win record.

Freshman Hiroud Akhavan earned the Lobos first singles point of the afternoon with his 6-0, 6-2 defeat of Sean Margulis at No. 5. Coetzee followed with the second point and junior Ryan Stotland won the match for the Lobos with his 6-4, 6-3 victory at No. 3 over Joel Kielbowicz.

Getting the remaining singles point was junior David Kowalski who battled Romain Massaro for the 7-6, 5-7, 10-5 win.

New Mexico started the match by sweeping all three doubles matches and earning a point. Stotland and Kowalski netted a 9-8 win over Kielbowicz and Salomon at No. 1 while Coetzee and Akhavan blanked Massaro and Margulis, 8-0 at No. 2. Senior Jasmin Hodzic and sophomore Henry Gers edged out David DiMartino and Marko Blagojevic, 9-7 in the third spot.

For their final home game of the season, New Mexico will take on No. 71 San Diego State at 1 p.m. tomorrow. It will be the final home matches for Coetzee and Hodzic.

No. 67 New Mexico d. No. 70 UNLV 5-2

1. Stotland/Kowalski d. Kielbowicz/Salomon 9-8
2. Coetzee/Akhavan d. Massaro/Margulis 8-0
3. Hodzic/Gers d. DiMartino/Blagojevic 9-7

1. Divan Coetzee d. Avi Salomon 6-0, 6-1
2. David Kowalski d. Romain Massaro 7-6, 5-7, 10-5
3. Ryan Stotland d. Joel Keilbowicz 6-4, 6-3
4. David DiMartino d. Henry Gers 0-6, 6-3, 10-7
5. Hiroud Akhavan d. Sean Margulis 6-0, 6-2
6. Marko Blagojevic d. Jasmin Hodzic 6-2, 2-6, 6-2