LoboTV
Lobo Baseball Picked to Finish Third in MW Preseason Poll
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/10/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 10, 2012

Click\ Here\ for\ Complete\ 2012\ MW\ Preseason\ Poll

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West released the 2012 Baseball Preseason Poll and the University of New Mexico was picked to finish third according to the panel of coaches in the conference.

UNM also landed two players on the preseason all-conference team. DJ Peterson was picked as the first baseman and Alex Allbritton was picked at shortstop.

New Mexico (20-41, 10-14 MW) made its second consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance last season by earning the MW Championship title and the league’s automatic bid. Head coach Ray Birmingham returns 17 letterwinners, including a solid core made up of MW Championship Most Valuable Player Peterson (1B, So.), Mitchell Garver (C, Jr.), Rudy Jaramillo (Sr., RHP), Austin House (RHP, Jr.), Ben Woodchick (INF/OF, Sr.) and Albritton (SS, Jr.). Peterson has been named to the 2012 Louisville Slugger Preseason All-America Third Team as well.

TCU was the unanimous favorite to win its seventh consecutive regular season MW baseball title in 2012, according to a vote of the five MW head coaches. The Horned Frogs received all five first-place votes and 25 points overall. UNLV edged out the Lobos for second place with 16 points, while the Lobos picked up 15 points in third place. San Diego State was picked fourth (12 points), followed by Air Force in fifth (7 points).

The Lobos' season begins with a weekend series against the Nevada Wolf Pack, starting at 3:00 P.M. on Friday, Feb. 17 at Isotopes Park. Conference play will begin on Friday, March 16. For more on the preseason poll and all-Conference team, as well as a look at each of the five MW squads, tune in to The Mtn.-MountainWest Sports Network (DirecTV 616) tonight for the 2012 MW Baseball Preview, which airs at 7 p.m. MT.

2012 MOUNTAIN WEST PRESEASON POLL

Rk. Team (1st-place votes) Points
1. TCU (5)                          25
2. UNLV                             16
3. New Mexico                     15
4. San Diego State               12
5. Air Force                         7

2012 MOUNTAIN WEST PRESEASON ALL-CONFERENCE TEAM

Position - Name, Class Institution
C – Josh Elander, Jr. TCU
1B – D.J. Peterson, So. New Mexico
2B – Scott Dysinger, Sr. UNLV
3B – Jantzen Witte, Jr. TCU
SS – Alex Albritton, Jr. New Mexico
OF – Jason Coats, Sr. TCU
OF – Brance Rivera, Sr. TCU
OF – Cody Smith, So. San Diego State
UT/DH – Brandon Bayardi, Sr. UNLV

P – Andrew Mitchell, So. TCU
P – Cole Swanson, So. San Diego State

Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Wednesday, May 21
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
Thursday, May 22
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News