LoboTV
Lobos Fall to Utes, 16-2 in Mountain West Conference Opener
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/19/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 19, 2010

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The University of New Mexico Lobo baseball team fell to the Utah Utes, 16-2 in tonight's Mountain West Conference opener at Isotopes Park. The Lobos fall to 13-6 on the season and 0-1 in MWC play. Utah improves to 8-7 on the season and 1-0 in MWC play. Utah's victory over New Mexico was its first since April 20, 2007 and the first in Albuquerque since March 25, 2007.

"Utah is a very good ball club," said Lobo head coach Ray Birmingham. "We knew they would be tough to beat. We have to learn from this game and we will use it as a motivational tool to get better. We have to wash it off, put on a smile and get ready for tomorrow."

Senior Cameron Smith led the Lobos at the plate going 2-for-3 with one RBI. Senior Justin Howard extended his hitting streak to 19 games going 1-for-4 at the plate. Senior Daniel Gonzalez went 1-for-2 with one RBI on the night.

Junior Mike Lachapelle (3-1) suffered his first loss on the season giving up seven runs in 2.1 innings of work.

The Lobos will play game two of the three-game series with the Utes on Saturday at 2 p.m. MT. Saturday's game will be broadcast live on 101.7 FM (KQTM) The TEAM. For more information, visit www.GoLobos.com.

Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News