Marsh Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/02/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

July 2, 2008

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Chelsea Goodman of Brigham Young University and Dionne Marsh of the University of New Mexico, have been nominated by the Mountain West Conference for the 18th annual NCAA Woman of the Year Award.

The NCAA Woman of the Year award honors student-athletes in their senior year of academic eligibility for their collegiate achievements in service, leadership, athletics and academics.

Goodman graduated from BYU in April, 2008, with a bachelor's degree in school health. A three-time all-MWC selection and four-time academic all-MWC honoree, Goodman capped off her Cougar career with a spot on the AVCA All-American Third Team in 2007. A product of Mesa, Ariz., Goodman earned All-Region honors twice and finished her career as the MWC all-time leader in double-doubles with 57.

Marsh, a native of Flower Mound, Texas, completed her four-year career at New Mexico as the Lobos' all-time leading scorer with 1,913 points, ranking third on the MWC career scoring list. A four-time all-MWC and academic all-MWC selection, she was also named the MWC Tournament's Most Valuable Player three times.

In August, 2008, the NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics (CWA) will select the top 10 winners in each division. From among those 30 honorees, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the CWA will vote from among the top nine finalists to determine the 2008 NCAA Woman of the Year. The top 10 honorees and the nine finalists from Divisions I, II and III will be honored and the 2008 NCAA Woman of the Year winner announced at a dinner in Indianapolis on October 19, 2008.

In 2006 the NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics (CWA) changed the nomination format to a conference rather than state winner system. In the past two years, 249 student-athletes were nominated by their conference, representing multiple ethnicities and all NCAA-sponsored sports within Divisions I, II and III.