LoboTV
Lobos Lose To Texas Tech, 6-3
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/25/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 25, 2009

Box Score

LUBBOCK, Texas --- It looked like the Lobos were off to another hit parade in Lubbock on Wednesday, but it came to a screeching halt as the University of New Mexico baseball team lost to Texas Tech, 6-3. UNM dropped to 4-2, while the Red Raiders improved to 5-1. New Mexico returns home for a four-game series at Isotopes Park against Northern Colorado, beginning Friday, Feb. 27, at 3 p.m.

Second baseman Mike Brownstein started the game with a double to center field and scored when center fielder Max Willett drove him in with the second double of the game one batter later, 1-0. Willett scored on a Rafael Neda single to put UNM up 2-0 on three hits after the first half inning.

But that was where it stopped.

Starter Jason Oatman (0-1) held off the Red Raiders for two innings before they got on the scoreboard with four runs in the bottom of the third to take a 4-2 lead. Oatman and the Lobo defense were able to keep Texas Tech in check until the bottom of the fifth when the Red Raiders got their second long ball out over the right center wall to take a 6-2 lead.

Sophomore transfer Kenny Toves relieved Oatman in the fifth and only allowed three Red Raiders on base over the final 3 2/3 innings. Toves walked two batters and struck out six while not allowing a hit or run.

UNM picked up one more run in the top of the seventh. Pinch hitter Justin Howard lined a double to left field and scored on a ground out by catcher Adam Courcha, 6-3.

Willett hit a single in the top of the eighth to go 2-for-3 on the day.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News