Lobos Start Day One Of Seawolf Invite In 7th
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  01/08/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Jan. 8, 2009

Seawolf Invitational - Day One Results

ANCHORAGE, Alaska --- The University of New Mexico ski team got the first day of the Seawolf Invitational started with solid performances by sophomore Thomas Schwab and freshman Nikolai Herlofson Finne in the men's giant slalom at Alyeska Ski Resort.

Schwab had a steady race day finishing 8th with a combined time of 1:44.50. Finne followed right behind Schwab in 9th place with a time of 1:44.61. Finne went into the second run of the day in second place.

Junior Gary Beresford picked up the third set of points in 28th place for the men's alpine squad. The three combined for 108 points towards the UNM team score.

The Lobos struggled in the women's slalom with only two racers finishing the two runs without mishap. Junior Malin Hemmingsson was the top finisher in 30th place, while sophomore transfer Estelle Pencherand-Charmet finished her first collegiate race in 35th place for the Lobos only points, 37 total.

UNM is currently in 7th place in both the University of Alaska-Anchorage Invitational and Seawolf Invitational after the first day of each event.

Friday's schedule will feature four events for the UAA Invitational - Nordic 5/10km classical, women's giant slalom, and men's slalom. Four events will be contested for the Seawolf Invitational - Nordic 10/15km classical mass start, women's giant slalom and men's slalom.

Both invitationals will wrap up on Sunday with the UAA Invitational men's giant slalom and women's slalom and the Seawolf Invitational Nordic 10/15k skate mass start.

Also taking place on Thursday were the final races, the sprint classic, of the U.S. Cross Country Ski Championships at Kincaid Park. Former Lobo Kristina Strandberg placed 5th in the women's race, while freshman Lobo Ingrid Leask placed 60th. Freshman Peter Landl competed in the men's race.

Seawolf Invitational Team Standings - through two events
1. Utah - 266
2. Colorado - 245
2. Alaska-Anchorage - 245
4. Denver - 244
5. Nevada - 233
6. Montana State - 167
7. New Mexico - 145
8. Whitman - 119

UNM Individual Finishes
Men's Giant Slalom
8. Thomas Schwab - 1:44.50
9. Nikolai Herlofson Finne - 1:44.61
28. Gary Beresford - 1:49.52
43. Olivier Lacaille - 2:01.72

Women's Slalom
30. Malin Hemmingsson - 2:10.13
35. Estelle Pecherand-Charmet - 2:23.39
DNF 1st Run - Stefanie Demetz
DQ 1st Run - Jacqueline Hangl
DQ 2nd Run - Karin Ohlin