Mountain West Conference Announces 2010-11 Men's Basketball All-Conference Awards
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/07/2011

March 7, 2011

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Mountain West Conference announced its 2010-11 men's basketball awards today. The league's nine men's head coaches, along with a select media panel, picked the all-Conference teams, as well as the coach, player, newcomer, freshman, sixth man and defensive awards.

BYU head coach Dave Rose and San Diego State head coach Steve Fisher shared MWC Coach of the Year honors, while BYU's Jimmer Fredette was a unanimous selection as the Player of the Year. Additionally, BYU's Jackson Emery garnered Defensive Player of the Year accolades, New Mexico's Drew Gordon was selected as the Newcomer of the Year, New Mexico's Kendall Williams was chosen as the Freshman of the Year and Colorado State's Pierce Hornung received the Sixth Man of the Year award.

Eight student-athletes are repeat selections to the all-Conference list in 2010-11, while the remaining seven make their first appearance on the team. BYU's Jimmer Fredette becomes the first three-time, first-team honoree in the 12-year history of the Mountain West Conference, while New Mexico's Dairese Gary and San Diego State's Kawhi Leonard received first-team accolades for the second straight season.

Rose collected his third MWC coaching honor after guiding the Cougars to their sixth Mountain West regular-season title and fourth under Rose. BYU posted a 14-2 record in Conference play this season, matching a school record for most MWC wins.

Fisher received his first MWC coaching award after leading the Aztecs to their second Mountain West regular-season crown. San Diego State set a program record for MWC victories en route to a 14-2 finish in Conference play in 2010-11.

Fredette, a 6-2, 195-pound senior guard, set a Mountain West Conference single-season record for most points in league play (502), while his 31.4 scoring average was second-best in MWC history. In addition, the Glens Falls, N.Y., native led the MWC in free throw percentage (.901) and made 3-pointers (3.6), while ranking second in minutes played (36.8), third in 3-point field goal percentage (.429), fourth in assists (4.3), tied for fourth in steals (1.5) and eighth in field goal percentage (.439) against MWC opponents.

Emery, a 6-3, 190-pound senior guard from Alpine, Utah, averaged a league-best 2.7 steals per game against MWC opponents in 2010-11. His 43 steals in Conference play set a league record for most by a senior and rank second all-time on the league's single-season charts.

Gordon, a 6-9, 245-pound forward/center, was one of two players to average a double-double in Conference play this season, ranking second in rebounding (11.8) and ninth in scoring (13.9). His 11.8 rebounding average in league play set a MWC record by a junior and ranks third all-time on the single-season list. The San Jose, Calif., product was also second in the Conference in field goal percentage (.556) and fourth in blocked shots (22) in MWC action.

Williams, a 6-3, 170-pound forward from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., was the league's top freshman scorer this season, averaging 10.1 points in league play. He also averaged 3.7 assists while registering a 1.9 assist-to-turnover ratio against Conference opponents, ranking sixth in the league in both categories.

Hornung, a 6-5, 200-pound sophomore forward, averaged 4.3 points and 5.4 rebounds off the bench for the Rams in Conference play in 2010-11. Hailing from Arvada, Calif., Hornung shot 58.9 percent (33-of-56) from the field, while also tallying 20 steals, 11 blocked shots and 10 assists in MWC action.

2010-11 All-Mountain West Conference Men's Basketball Team
(Selected by media and head coaches)
First-Team All-Mountain West
Jimmer Fredette, BYU** Sr. G 6-2 195 Glens Falls, N.Y.
Andy Ogide, Colorado State* Sr. F 6-9 245 Marietta, Ga.
Dairese Gary, New Mexico* Sr. G 6-1 205 Elkhart, Ind.
D.J. Gay, San Diego State Sr. G 6-0 170 Sun Valley, Calif.
Kawhi Leonard, San Diego State* So. F 6-7 225 Riverside, Calif.
Second-Team All-Mountain West
Jackson Emery, BYU* Sr. G 6-3 190 Alpine, Utah
Drew Gordon, New Mexico Jr. F/C 6-9 245 San Jose, Calif.
Malcolm Thomas, San Diego State* Sr. F 6-9 220 San Diego, Calif.
Tre'Von Willis, UNLV* Sr. G 6-4 195 Fresno, Calif.
Will Clyburn, Utah Jr. F 6-7 200 Detroit, Mich.
Third-Team All-Mountain West
Michael Lyons, Air Force So. G 6-6 195 Newport News, Va.
Brandon Davies, BYU So. F 6-9 235 Provo, Utah
Hank Thorns, TCU Jr. G 5-10 170 Las Vegas, Nev.
Oscar Bellfield, UNLV Jr. G 6-2 185 Los Angeles, Calif.
Chase Stanback, UNLV* Jr. G/F 6-8 210 Los Angeles, Calif.
All-Defensive Team
Jackson Emery, BYU Sr. G 6-3 185 Alpine, Utah
Dairese Gary, New Mexico Sr. G 6-1 205 Elkhart, Ind.
Kawhi Leonard, San Diego State So. F 6-7 225 Riverside, Calif.
Malcolm Thomas, San Diego State Sr. F 6-9 220 San Diego, Calif.
David Foster, Utah Jr. C 7-3 255 Lake Forest, Calif.
Honorable Mention All-Mountain West
Tom Fow, Sr., F, 6-6, 205, Air Force
Evan Washington, Sr., G, 6-4, 195, Air Force
Noah Hartsock, Jr., F, 6-8, 230, BYU
Travis Franklin, Sr., F, 6-7, 215, Colorado State
Kendall Williams, Fr., G, 6-3, 170, New Mexico
Billy White, Sr., F, 6-8, 235, San Diego State
Josh Watkins, Jr., G, 6-0, 200, Utah
Desmar Jackson, So., G, 6-5, 175, Wyoming
Amath M'Baye, So., F, 6-9, 210, Wyoming
Player of the Year: Jimmer Fredette, Sr., G, BYU
Defensive Player of the Year: Jackson Emery, Sr., G, BYU
Newcomer of the Year: Drew Gordon, Jr., F/C, New Mexico
Freshman of the Year: Kendall Williams, Fr., G, New Mexico
Sixth Man of the Year: Pierce Hornung, So., F, Colorado State
Co-Coaches of the Year: Dave Rose, BYU and Steve Fisher, San Diego State
*Indicates number of previous all-Conference selections