Lobos Head to Maryland for NCAA Championships
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/30/2005
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 30, 2005


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The University of New Mexico men's golf team will travel to the NCAA Championships this week in Owings Mills, Md. The four day tournament will take place on June 1-4, with 18-holes played each day with a cut to 15-teams after three rounds. The Lobos are making their fourth straight appearance in the NCAA Championships but have not made the cut since 1997. Joining head coach Glen Millican at the NCAA Championships will be seniors Madalitso Muthiya and Miguel Griego and juniors Mark Anderson, Jay Choi and Spencer Levin.

THE COURSE: The NCAA Championships will be played at the par-70, 7,131 yard Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Md. (outside Baltimore).

TEE TIMES: The Lobos are scheduled to tee off at 12:18 p.m. (EST) on Wednesday and 7:18 a.m. (EST) on Thursday. Tee times for the next two days will be determined by second round standings.

TELEVISION COVERAGE: The NCAA Championships will show the second, third and fourth round of the tournament on television. Coverage will be shown on the Golf Channel from 3-5 p.m. (EST) on Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

RESULTS: The results can be found on the University of New Mexico website at www.golobos.com, the Loyola College website at www.loyolagreyhounds.com and live scoring can be followed at Golfstat at www.golfstat.com.

THE FIELD: The field for the NCAA Championships is made up of 30 teams with 23 of them ranked in the top-30 according to the Golfweek Index. The field consists of Oklahoma State (1), Georgia (2), Georgia Tech (3), UNLV (4), New Mexico (5), Florida (6), Augusta State (7), Duke (9), Kentucky (11), Tennessee (12), BYU (13), Wake Forest (14), Arizona State (15), UCLA (16), Georgia Southern (17), Southern Cal (18), Texas (20), Alabama (21), Arizona (23), Washington (24), Georgia State (25), SMU (26), Tulsa (30), Purdue, Texas A&M, Coastal Carolina, Arkansas, San Diego State, Stanford and Missouri. The Lobos have a record of 53-21 against this years field and have played in a tournament against 26 of the 29 teams.