New Mexico Drops Tough One To Texas Tech
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/19/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 19, 2006

Final Stats

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Texas Tech's lead-off hitter Ashley Parker went 3-for-4 with two RBI to lead the Red Raiders to a 4-2 win over the Lobos in the final game of the Airport University Inn Lobo Classic. Despite the loss, New Mexico was named the tournament champion for having a 4-1 record over the weekend. Senior shortstop Cassie Chavez was also named the tournament MVP for the Lobos.

New Mexico's 13-game winning streak comes to an end with the loss. The Lobos now sit with an overall record of 15-13 while Texas Tech improves to 11-19.

The Lobos scored their two runs in the bottom of the second inning to take the early lead. Freshman Analise Rubalcava got on board with a single through the right side and then was scored on a home run to left center by Kristina Schmallen. The homer was Schmallen's seventh this season.

In the third inning, Texas Tech scored its first run when Whitney Riley hit an RBI single. Texas Tech would then come back in the fourth inning to score two more runs and one more run in the top of the fifth inning to set the score at 4-2 for the remainder of the game.

Winning pitcher for Texas Tech was Julie Hauck (5-6). She held the Lobos to no runs and three hits over four innings of work.

New Mexico's Katie Gregg (6-4) took the loss, allowing three runs on seven hits over 3.2 innings pitched.

Jennifer Deitrich, Schmallen and Chavez were each named to the all-tournament team for their performances in the classic.

New Mexico is back in action next weekend as they host Northern Colorado in a four-game series March 25-26. The first doubleheader at Lobo Field will be on Saturday, starting at noon. The games against Northern Colorado will mark the last of New Mexico's non-conference schedule. Mountain West Conference games for the Lobos start April 1 when they take on Colorado State in a doubleheader at home.


Kristina Schmallen New Mexico
Cassie Chavez New Mexico
Melissa Sanchez UC Riverside
Chris Pesqueira South Dakota State

Jennifer Deitrich New Mexico
Whitney Riley Texas Tech
Ashley Parker Texas Tech

Julie Hauck Texas Tech

Jennifer Corkin Texas Tech

Alex Watkins Texas Tech