LoboTV
Air Force Bests Lobos, 6-4
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/30/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 30, 2006

Box Score

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The New Mexico baseball team fell to 18-9 overall and 1-1 in the conference this afternoon with a 6-4 loss to Air Force in the Lobos' second game of the Mountain West Conference Preseason Tournament hosted by San Diego State.

With two outs in the third, Air Force first baseman Karl Bolt belted a three-run home run to end the scoreless tie. Sophomore Ian Hollick got one run back, launching his fourth home run of the year in the fourth inning.

Two doubles and a walk set up Bolt with the bases loaded and no outs in the fifth. Bolt singled in a run and designated hitter Price Paramore hit a sacrifice fly, giving the Falcons a 5-1 lead. Paramore tripled and scored on a single from third baseman Austin Ferreria extending the lead to five.

The Lobos fought back in the ninth, putting three runs on the board with two outs behind two doubles from sophomore Jordan Pacheco and junior Jay Russell.

Hollick led New Mexico at the plate, going 3-for-4 with two runs and a RBI while Russell went 3-for-5 with two RBI. Bolt was 2-for-4 with four RBI and a run while Matt Ghigna and Geno Salazar were 2-for-3 with one and two runs scored, respectively.

Senior Nate Melek suffered the loss, allowing seven hits, five runs and two walks with four strikeouts in 5 innings. Senior Jesse Perez hurled 3 innings of relief for three hits, one run and three strikeouts. Mitch Brown earned the win, giving up six hits and a run with three strikeouts in 5 innings. Paul Pratt hurled 3 hitless innings of relief with five Ks for the Falcons.

The Lobos take on BYU tomorrow at 11 a.m. Junior lefty Danny Ray Herrera is slated to face off with Jesse Craig.

Sunday, March 29
5 - 1 (W)
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News