LoboTV
Lobos End Season with 4-0 Loss to UNLV at MWC Championship
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/12/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 12, 2006

Box Score

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - The University of New Mexico softball team closed out their season today at the MWC Championship with a 4-0 loss to UNLV at Eller Media Stadium in Las Vegas, Nev. With the loss the Lobos finish the season 23-31, while the Lady Rebels improve to 26-36. The losing pitcher for UNM was freshman Jen Mendenhall who drops to 8-14 on the season, while the winning pitcher for UNLV was Shannon Crisp who moves to 11-16.

UNLV opened the scoring in the bottom of the second with an RBI double by Caitlyn Paus to make it 1-0.

The Lobos though would have their opportunities as they put a runner on second base in the fourth, fifth and sixth innings but could not manage to bring them home. UNM in all left eight runners on base.

The Lady Rebels would increase the lead to the final margin of 4-0 in the bottom of the sixth on a 3-run homerun by Crisp.

A bright spot for UNM today was senior Kristina Schmallen who went 2-for-3 to finish the season with a .395 batting average.

Wednesday, April 23
5 - 13 (L)
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
Thursday, May 22
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News