Kroisleitner Named USCSCA National Alpine Coach of the Year
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/15/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 15, 2010

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- University of New Mexico Alpine ski coach Martin Kroisleitner was named the United States Collegiate Ski Coaches Association (USCSCA) National Alpine Coach of the Year on Thursday, April 15. Kroisleitner, a native of Austria, is in his fourth year on the Lobo ski staff and third as the Alpine head coach.

"Having Martin named USCSCA Alpine Coach of the Year is a great tribute to our team," said Lobo head coach Fredrik Landstedt. "It shows the strength of our program and that we run a very high quality, nationally-competitive collegiate ski program."

For the second year in a row, Kroisleitner led the UNM Alpine squad to one of its strongest performances in team history. The Lobo Alpine team was instrumental in UNM's 2010 RMISA regular season conference championship and third-place finish at the NCAA Championships in Steamboat Springs.

"It is a great honor to receive this award," said Kroisleitner. "It shows that all the work we put in as a team was worth it. I am really proud of this year's team and what we were able to accomplish."

In 2010, all six Alpine skiers earned a combined eight All-America honors at the NCAA Championships. Senior Malin Hemmingsson led the group with her third national title in women's slalom, while freshmen Anne Cecilie Brusletto and Kate Williams also finished in the top-10 in the event for All-America recognition. Brusletto and Hemmingsson also earned All-America honors in the women's giant slalom. On the men's side, junior Thomas Schwab earned All-America honors in the giant slalom, while sophomore Petter Brenna and freshman Chris Acosta kept the Lobos in national title contention with All-America finishes in the slalom. With Hemmingsson's National Championship win, the Lobo Alpine squad accounted for 13 of the team's school record 19 season wins in 2010.

Montana State's Grete Hangensen was named the USCSCA Nordic Coach of the Year, keeping both awards in the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association.