Lobo Ski Team In 1st Place at Colorado Invitational
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  01/14/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Jan. 14, 2009

Colorado/Laura Sharpe Flood Memorial Invitational Results - through 2 events

ELDORA, Colo. --- The University of New Mexico ski team is in first place after the first day of the 2009 University of Colorado/Laura Sharpe Flood Memorial Invitational with 149 points in two events. The Lobos have an 19-point lead on the University of Denver in second place at 130. Lobo freshman Petter Brenna won the men's giant slalom for his second win of the season in just three races. Sophomore Estelle Pecherand-Charmet improved her career standing in the women's giant slalom with a second-place finish.

The Lobo women won the team competition in giant slalom with three top-10 finishes for 77 points. Pecherand-Charmet placed second with a time of 2:08.20, followed by freshman Stefanie Demetz in fourth at 2:09.61. Senior Karin Ohlin placed a career-best 10th at 2:11.15. Junior Malin Hemmingsson, still bitten by the flu bug, did not finish her second run.

Brenna continues to ski well with his third top-2 finish in three RMISA races. Sophomore Thomas Schwab placed seventh in the giant slalom with a time of 2:05.45 and freshman Nikolai Herlofson Finne placed 14th for the Lobos remaining points. The men took second in the team event competition with 72 points.

Competition continues on Thursday with the men's and women's slalom races at Eldora Ski Resort. Nordic competition begins Friday with the classical races.

Colorado/Laura Sharpe Flood Memorial Invitational Standings - through 2 events
1. New Mexico - 149
2. Denver - 130
3. Colorado - 128.5
4. Utah - 126.5
5. Alaska-Anchorage - 125
6. Nevada - 97
7. Montana State - 82
8. Whitman - 50
9. Wyoming - 0

UNM Individual Finishes
Men's Giant Slalom
1. Petter Brenna - 2:04.60
7. Thomas Schwab - 2:05.45
14. Nikolai Herlofson Finne - 2:06.99
35. Olivier Lacaille - 2:20.79

Women's Giant Slalom
2. Estelle Pecherand-Charmet - 2:08.20
4. Stefanie Demetz - 2:09.61
10. Karin Ohlin - 2:11.15
33. Jacqueline Hangl - 3:12.77
DNF 2nd Run - Malin Hemmingsson