LoboTV
Baseball Opens Mountain West Action With 7-5 Win Over Utah
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/19/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 19, 2004

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The New Mexico baseball team began the Mountain West Conference season with a 7-5 win over Utah Friday night at Isotopes Park for its third consecutive win at home. The Lobos improve to 4-12-1 (1-0 MWC), while Utah falls to 4-12 (0-1 MWC).

UNM broke a 4-4 tie with three runs in the bottom of the seventh to take a commanding 7-4 lead. With two outs and no runners on base, Josh Mader singled to right, and then stole second. Joe Salas, the next batter, drove in Mader with a single to left, giving the Lobos a one-run advantage. Sean Murray extended the lead with a two-run shot over the left-field wall for his first homer of the season.

Utah countered with one run in the top of the eighth, but with the bases loaded and two outs, Petr Pacas limited the damage by striking out Ryan Khoury on three pitches. Salas closed the ninth for his second save in as many games.

Jason Fernandez threw a solid seven innings in the start, allowing four runs and four hits while striking out six. He improved to 2-2 for the season. Jason Price of Utah gave up six runs on 10 hits in 6.2 innings of work to drop to 1-3.

Utah jumped out to an early 2-0 lead in the first, but Mader tied the game in the bottom half of the inning with a two-run triple. Mader went 2-for-4 with two RBI, one run and one stolen base in the game.

The Utes went back ahead with single runs in the third and fourth innings. New Mexico trimmed the lead to 4-3 on a Matt Young RBI single in the fourth and tied the contest on a Murray run-scoring single in the fifth. Murray collected one run, two hits and three RBI in the game, while Young also delivered two hits to go along with a run and a stolen base.

New Mexico returns to action tomorrow to face Utah at 1 p.m. at Isotopes Park.

Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News