Lobo Women's Basketball Holds Annual Bank of the West Awards Banquet
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/09/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 9, 2009

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The New Mexico women's basketball team held its annual Bank of the West awards banquet Thursday at the Hyatt Regency Downtown. More than 550 supporters and fans were on hand to celebrate the 2008-09 season and honor the Lobo women's basketball team. Head coach Don Flanagan was one of the many speakers who addressed the crowd and the yearly awards were presented to the Lobo players. Seniors Angela Hartill and Amanda Adamson were both honored Thursday night.

UNM is coming off a 25-11 season and its 12th straight post-season appearance. The Lobos had two all-conference selections in junior Amy Beggin who was named second team All-MWC and Hartill who earned third team honors. New Mexico recorded the second most wins in school history and advanced to the quartersfinals of the WNIT.

2008-09 Yearly Award Winners -

Most Improved: Amanda Best

Community Lobo: Valerie Kast

Defensive Player: Amanda Adamson

Student Athlete of the Year: Lauren Taylor

Reaching For The Stars (MVP): Amy Beggin