Lobos Host 52nd William H. Tucker Invitational
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  09/19/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Sept. 19, 2006

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The University of New Mexico men's golf team hosts the 52nd annual William H. Tucker Invitational at the University Championship Golf Course. A shotgun start will begin play on both Friday and Saturday at 7:30 a.m., with 36 holes being played on Friday and 18 holes on Saturday. Head coach Glen Millican will have two teams entered in the field. The Lobos that are scheduled to play in the Tucker are senior Charlie Beljan, junior Robb Bierbaum, sophomores Nick Geyer, Steve Saunders, Guillermo Chavez, Jacob Lestishen and Dan Saltz and freshmen Kyle Nielsen, Brandon Putnam and Sean McNamara.

THE COURSE: The William H. Tucker will be played at the 7,350 yard, par-72 University Championship Course.

RESULTS: The results can be found on the University of New Mexico website at www.golobos.com. or on the golfstat website at www.golfstat.com. Live scoring will also be available on the golfstat website.

WILLIAM H. TUCKER FIELD: The 52nd annual William H. Tucker will be made up of some of the top teams in the country including Arizona, BYU, Denver, Nevada, UNLV, Pepperdine, Texas A&M and Texas Tech, who all played in the 2006 NCAA Championships, while New Mexico, Colorado, Colorado State, Missouri, New Mexico State and Tulsa all made NCAA Regionals. The entire 21 team field will be made up of New Mexico, New Mexico JV, Air Force, Arizona, BYU, Colorado, Colorado State, Denver, Hawaii, Missouri, Nevada, UNLV, New Mexico State, Pepperdine, St. Edwards, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, UTEP, Tulsa and Wyoming.

TUCKER HISTORY: The William H. Tucker Invitational turns 52 years old this season, and the tournament continues to rank among the nation's most prestigious and selective in-season college golf events in the country. The Tucker is the second-oldest college golf tournament in the country, behind only the New England Intercollegiate Golf Tournament.

The tourney is named in honor of a great English golf course architect and former UNM groundskeeper, William H. Tucker.

Held at The Championship Course since 1967, the event was previously held at the UNM North Golf Course from 1955-1966.

The 1983 tournament marked a first for the Tucker and collegiate golf when the William H. Tucker Invitational became associated with a charitable organization: The American Cancer Society (a beneficiary of tournament profits the last 20 years).

From 1955 through 1988 the tournament was a 72-hole format. The last 16 Tuckers have been adapted to a 54-hole structure, conforming with current NCAA standards.

The host Lobos have won the Tucker on seven occasions, ranging from the school's first title in the tournament's inaugural year, 1955, to UNM's most recent, coming in 2002. The University of Houston has captured the most Tucker titles, winning 13, all between 1957-1970. The field for the Tucker is typically championship-caliber, and 2005 was no different. UNLV, BYU, Nevada, Texas Tech, Arizona and New Mexico highlighted one of the elite tournaments in the nation, with the Rebels taking the team title and Andres Gonzales of UNLV winning the individual title for the Rebels.