Hemmingsson and Reissmann Propel Lobos To 4th-Place Finish at DU Invitational
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/07/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 7, 2009

  • Denver Ski Invitational Final Results

    WINTER PARK/DEVIL'S THUMB, Colo. --- The Lobo ski team had five skiers tie or better their career-best finishes on Saturday afternoon as the University of New Mexico jumped from 7th place to a 4th-place finish at the University of Denver Invitational. UNM finished with 472 points. The Lobos made the jump in the standings behind wins by Malin Hemmingsson in the women's slalom and Simon Reissmann in the men's 15-kilometer freestyle.

    Hemmingsson, a junior, picked up her first collegiate win in women's slalom since winning the 2007 NCAA championship with a combined time of 1:29.19. Junior Estelle Pecherand-Charmet and freshman Jacqueline Hangl finished fourth and fifth to get the team win in the event. Freshman Stefanie Demetz placed ninth for her best career finish, while senior Karin Ohlin finished 14th, placing all five Lobo women in the top-15 and earning 83 team points.

    Reissmann, a sophomore, earned his second win of the season, and of his UNM career, in men's freestyle with a time of 44:00.4. Junior Tor-Hakon Hellebostad and sophomore Martin Kaas picked up points for the Lobos finishing 11th and 23rd, respectively.

    In the men's slalom, freshman Petter Brenna picked up his fifth top-5 finish of the season, placing 3rd in 1:28.27. Sophomore Thomas Schwab and junior Olivier Lacaille got the remainder of the Lobo points in the event.

    Junior Polina Ermoshina and freshman Svenja Niemeier recorded career-best finishes in the women's 10-kilometer freestyle. Ermoshina tied her career-best of sixth place, while Niemeier bumped her best up one notch to 23rd. Senior Melanie Zemp added points with her 14th-place finish in the event.

    The Lobos are off until the NCAA West Regionals/Nevada Invitational on Feb. 20-21 in Reno, Nev.

    Denver Invitational Final Team Standings
    1. Colorado - 540 points
    2. Denver - 492
    3. Utah - 489
    4. New Mexico - 472
    5. Alaska-Anchorage - 453
    6. Nevada - 447
    7. Montana State - 413
    8. Whitman - 183
    9. Wyoming - 112

    New Mexico Individual Results
    Men's 15K Freestyle
    1. Simon Reissmann - 44:00.4
    11. Tor-Hakon Hellebostad - 44:55.5
    23. Martin Kaas - 46:14.0
    25. Casey Dyck - 47:41.6
    32. Rick Grahn - 48:24.7

    Women's 10K Freestyle
    6. Polina Ermoshina - 33:37.9
    14. Melanie Zemp - 35:10.0
    23. Svenja Niemeier - 37:17.6

    Men's Slalom
    3. Petter Brenna - 1:28.27
    10. Thomas Schwab - 1:30.27
    16. Olivier Lacaille - 1:31.66
    DNS 2nd Run - Nikolai Herlofson Finne

    Women's Slalom
    1. Malin Hemmingsson - 1:29.19
    4. Estelle Pecherand-Charmet - 1:31.18
    5. Jacqueline Hangl - 1:31.51
    9. Stefanie Demetz - 1:32.75
    14. Karin Ohlin - 1:33.85

  • E-News