LoboTV
Silver Wins Game One of Fall Classic, 6-3
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  10/27/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Oct. 27, 2008

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- Junior transfer Cameron Monger got the 2008 Cherry & Silver Fall Classic off to a strong start for the Silver Slammers when he took the first pitch of the series deep to right center for a triple. Monger's hit was just the beginning as the Slammers beat the Big Red Machine, 6-3, in Game One of the series.

Monger, the Silver center fielder, scored two batters later on a Dane Hamilton sacrifice fly to give Silver a 1-0 lead. The Slammers added a run in the second when first baseman Kevin Atkinson scored on a single by left fielder Anthony Martinez, 2-0.

The Big Red Machine got on the board in the bottom of the second inning when left fielder Chris Juarez singled to left field to score right fielder Brian Cavazos-Galvez, 2-1.

Monger scored his second run of the game in the third. After reaching on an error, Monger stole all the remaining bases to get home and give Silver a 3-1 lead.

After a scoreless fourth, Silver added three runs in the fifth to take a 6-1 lead. Right fielder Cameron Smith, second baseman Ben Woodchick, and Hamilton, the shortstop, all crossed the plate for the Slammers.

The Big Red Machine looked like it was going to make a comeback in the bottom of the seventh as Juarez scored on a single by shortstop Danny Gonzalez and catcher Adam Courcha scored on a single by third baseman Zach Carlson, cutting the Silver lead to 6-3 off reliever Joey Castleman. Senior Brandon Hewett came in with two runners on and the tying run at the plate. Hewett got designated hitter Bret Fanning to hit into a fielder's choice for the second out, before walking second baseman Mike Brownstein to load the bases. Hewett earned the save for Silver by getting center fielder Max Willett to line out to Hamilton for the final out.

Monger was one of four Slammers to get two hits in the game. Catcher Rafael Neda, Atkinson and Smith had two hits as well. Juarez and Gonzalez led the Cherry with two hits each.

Ryan Escarcega picked up the win for the Silver, allowing just two hits and one run in six innings. Jason Oatman took the loss for the Cherry, giving up six runs on 10 hits in five and two-thirds innings.

The teams resume action on Tuesday, Oct. 28, at Isotopes Park. Game time is set for 1 p.m.

Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News