No. 20 Texas A&M Claims Domino's Pizza Aggie Classic
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/29/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 29, 2004

Box Score

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - No. 20 Texas A&M defeated the New Mexico baseball team, 11-1, Sunday night in the final game of the Domino's Pizza Aggie Classic at Olsen Field. The Aggies claimed the tournament title with a 5-1 record, while Arkansas was the runner-up with a 3-3 mark. The Lobos finished the tournament with a 1-5 record.

Four Lobos were named to the Domino's Pizza Aggie Classic All-Tournament team: first baseman Sean Murray, second baseman Ryan Barba, center fielder Matt Young and pitcher Jason Fernandez.

The Aggies (12-1) controlled the entire game, scoring runs in four of the first five innings to build a 5-0 lead. A&M scored four more runs in the seventh before UNM scored in the eighth. Chris Dabbs, who had two hits in game, drove in Jay Russell on a sacrifice fly for the Lobos.

Texas A&M plated two more runs in the eighth to go up 11-1, and the game was called due to the tournament's 10-run rule after seven innings.

Josh Mader and Garrick Haymore also collected hits in the game for the Lobos (1-7-1).

Kaarsten Gaarder (0-1) took the loss for UNM in his first start as a Lobo. Kyle Marlatt pitched a four-hit complete game to pick up his first win of the year for the Aggies.

New Mexico returns to action next weekend (March 5-7) to face UC Santa Babarba in a three-game series at Isotopes Park. The first game of the series is set for Friday at 6 p.m.

C - Brady Toops, Arkansas
1B - Sean Murray, New Mexico
2B - Ryan Barba, New Mexico
3B - Austin Boggs, Texas A&M
SS - Cliff Pennington, Texas A&M
OF - Matt Young, New Mexico
OF - Jake Dugger, Arkansas
OF - Andrew Baldwin, Texas A&M
DH - Haas Pratt, Arkansas
P - Jason Fernandez, New Mexico
P - Robert Ray, Texas A&M
P - Kyle Marlatt, Texas A&M
MVP - Austin Boggs, Texas A&M