Lobos Finish Second At Montana State Ski Invitational
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  01/17/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Jan. 17, 2010

  • Montana State Ski Invitational - Final Results

    BIG SKY, Mont. --- The University of New Mexico placed eight skiers among the top-14 finishers in the men's and women's slalom races today in the final events of the Montana State Invitational to keep the Lobos in second place. UNM finished the meet with 835 team points, behind meet winner Colorado with 903 and just ahead of NCAA defending champion Denver in third with 822.

    The Lobo women continue to dominate the downhill events with all five racers finishing in the top-13 and winning the event as a team with 111 points. Freshmen Kate Williams and Anne Cecilie Brusletto led the way with third place and a tie for sixth, respectively. Senior Malin Hemmingsson picked up the final women's slalom points with ninth place, just ahead of sophomore Jacqueline Hangl in 10th. Sophomore Stefanie Demetz placed 13th.

    New Mexico picked up three top-14 finishes to keep the Lobos in second place. Senior Olivier Lacaille led the way for UNM with a sixth-place finish, just ahead of junior Thomas Schwab in eight place. Sophomore Petter Brenna earned UNM's final points with a 14th-place finish.

    The Lobo Nordic team moves on to Soldier Hollow, Utah, for the final four events of the Utah Invitational. New Mexico currently holds first place at the Utah Invitational after the Alpine events earlier in the week. The next Alpine competition for the Lobos will be the Jade Enterprises New Mexico Invitational in Taos, N.M. on Feb. 5-6. The Nordic squad will compete at Red River, N.M. at the same time.

    Lobo Skiing Notes:
    *On Thursday, Malin Hemmingsson and Petter Brenna were named the RMISA Alpine Skiers of the Meet for their performances at the Utah Invitational in Park City. Once a skier earns league honors, they are no longer eligible for the honor the rest of the season.

    * Petter Brenna's giant slalom win on Saturday ties him with former Lobo All-Americans Stefan Lanzier (1997-99), Lars Loeseth (2004-07) and Tor Fodnesbergene (2006-08) for the most men's Alpine career wins in UNM history with six. Brenna set a new season record as a rookie in 2009 with five wins.

    * Malin Hemmingsson's giant slalom win on Saturday, along with her slalom win at Utah earlier in the week, moves her into second place on the Lobo women's Alpine career wins list with seven over three-plus seasons. Former Lobo All-American Agneta Hjorth (1992-95) owns the record with 15, including a season record eight wins in 1992.

    * Martin Kaas earned two wins in two days and his first career wins as a Lobo in classic and freestyle on Friday and Saturday at the Montana State Invitational. Kaas is one of only four Lobo men to win a classic race in a UNM uniform.

    Montana State Invitational (Final)
    1. Colorado, 903 points; 2. New Mexico, 835; 3. Denver, 822; 4. Utah, 713; 5. Alaska-Anchorage, 706; 6. Nevada, 608; 7. Montana State, 599

    New Mexico Finishes

    Men's Slalom
    6. Olivier Lacaille, 1:33.65; 8. Thomas Schwab, 1:33.73; 14. Petter Brenna, 1:34.55; 19. Chris Acosta, 1:35.11; 25. Chriss Salbu, 1:38.69; 31. Gary Beresford, 1:48.28

    Women's Slalom
    3. Kate Williams, 1:40.45; t6. Anne Cecilie Brusletto, 1:40.95; 9. Malin Hemmingsson, 1:41.06; 10. Jacqueline Hangl, 1:41.17; 13. Stefanie Demetz, 1:41.63

    Men's Giant Slalom
    1. Petter Brenna, 1:43.8; 5. Thomas Schwab, 1:44.8; 14. Chris Acosta, 1:45.7; 23. Olivier Lacaille, 1:46.9; 33. Chriss Salbu, 1:49.2; 35. Gary Beresford, 1:50.6

    Women's Giant Slalom
    1. Malin Hemmingsson, 1:46.9; 6. Anne Cecilie Brusletto, 1:47.9; 8. Stefanie Demetz, 1:48.9; 17. Kate Williams, 1:49.9; DNS (2nd run) Jacqueline Hangl

    Men's 10K Freestyle
    1. Eivind Solberg, 29:03.38

    Women's 5K Freestyle
    3. Linn Klaesson, 14:50.65; 26. Ingrid Leask, 16:01.48

    Men's 15K Classic
    1. Eivind Solberg, 50:20.33

    Women's 10K Classic
    4. Linn Klaesson, 35:09.38; 21. Ingrid Leask, 37:20.45

    RMISA Qualifier

    Men's Giant Slalom
    3. Petter Brenna, 1:46.55; 4. Thomas Schwab, 1:46.80; 6. Chriss Salbu, 1:47.16; 15. Chris Acosta, 1:48.21; 17. Olivier Lacaille, 1:48.33; 66. Gary Beresford, 1:56.08

    Women's Giant Slalom
    1. Anne Cecilie Brusletto, 1:49.65; 6. Stefanie Demetz, 1:50.93; 9. Malin Hemmingsson, 1:51.42; 14. Kate Williams, 1:52.39; DNF (2nd run) Jacqueline Hangl

  • E-News