Amy Beggin Named Finalist for Lowe's Senior CLASS Award
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/03/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 3, 2010

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. --- New Mexico senior women's basketball player Amy Beggin has been named a finalist for the 2009-10 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award today. Beggin is one of ten women's basketball players nationally named a finalist. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - classroom, character, community and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in SchoolTM, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 women's candidates who were announced in October.

Nationwide balloting begins immediately to determine the winner. Lowe's, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award winners during the 2010 NCAA Men's and Women's Final Fours in early April.

The women's finalists for 2009-10 are: Jayne Appel, Stanford University; Amy Beggin, University of New Mexico; Joy Cheek, Duke University; Alysha Clark, Middle Tennessee State University; Tyra Grant, Pennsylvania State University; Kelsey Griffin, University of Nebraska, Lincoln; Allison Hightower, Louisiana State University; Ashley Houts, University of Georgia; Ashley Sweat, Kansas State University; and Bianca Thomas, University of Mississippi.

These 10 names will be placed on the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award basketball ballot for a nationwide vote beginning today and concluding March 22. Fan balloting will be available on the award's official Web site, http://www.seniorCLASSaward.com, as well as through text messaging. Fans can text WBBALL to 74567 to vote for women's finalists. These votes will be combined with votes from coaches and media to determine the recipient of the award.