LoboTV
Gera Sanchez Signs With Houston Astros
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/13/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

July 13, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Good things come to those who wait. A little more than a month after going undrafted in the MLB Draft, former University of New Mexico pitcher Gera Sanchez has signed with the Houston Astros. He is the second Lobo pitcher to sign a professional contract in 2012. Austin House signed with the Oakland A's in June after getting drafted in the 14th round.

"I'm excited," Sanchez said. "The (scout) for the Astros called (UNM head coach Ray Birmingham) and talked to him. Then the Astros called me and asked, 'How would you like to play for the Astros?' And I was like, 'Cool!' It's very exciting."

Sanchez will report to the Astros' spring training complex in Kissimmee, Fla., on Sunday before learning which minor league affiliate he will be sent to.

"This is well-deserved," Birmingham said. "He'll be a great pitcher for them. Mike Brown is a veteran scout and a guy that knows Gera's potential."

Sanchez, a native of Las Cruces, N.M., began the 2012 season as UNM's closer and set the all-time school save record before moving into the starting rotation on April 7. He formed one-third of UNM's first all-New Mexico weekend rotation with House (Albuquerque) and Josh Walker (Rio Rancho).

Sanchez led the Lobos with 95 strikeouts in only 78 1/3 innings and held opposing batters to a team-low .224 batting average. He finished his Lobo career tied for sixth in appearances with 62.

The Lobos have now had 18 players sign a professional contract in the past five years.

Sunday, March 01
10:30 AM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley vs. San Francisco
1:30 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
E-News