LoboTV
0
0
0
0
Baseball Falls To No 13 Arizona State, 22-4
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/18/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 18, 2004

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - No. 13 Arizona State collected 25 hits and hit four homers as it defeated the New Mexico baseball team, 22-4, Tuesday night at Isotopes Park. The Lobos (22-26-1, 18-9 MWC) will now turn their focus on the bigger picture - playing UNLV (32-20, 19-8 MWC) later this week (May 20-22) at Isotopes Park with the Mountain West regular season championship on the line. If the Lobos sweep the Rebels, they will will in the conference outright; if they take two out of three and San Diego State loses at least once to Utah, they will tie for the title but go to the conference tournament as the No. 1 seed.

Arizona State (36-13) scored six runs in the first - keyed by a Chris Cook grand slam - and never looked back. ASU added two runs in the second, two in the third and five in the fifth to go up 15-0 before the Lobos scored a run in the fifth on a Josh Mader RBI single.

In the sixth, Tim Grady hit a deep solo homer over the scoreboard in left-center. Grady went 3-for-4 in the game and had two doubles to go along with his homer. Matt Young, who also collected three hits, hit a run-scoring triple in the same inning. In the ninth, Daniel Stovall delivered an RBI single for UNM's fourth run of the game.

New Mexico and UNLV begin their three-game series at noon on Thursday, May 20 at Isotopes Park.

Sunday, April 26
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Friday, May 01
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, May 02
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Sunday, May 03
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, May 05
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at New Mexico State
Friday, May 08
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Saturday, May 09
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Sunday, May 10
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Tuesday, May 12
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Arizona State
Thursday, May 14
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Friday, May 15
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Saturday, May 16
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, May 20
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News