LoboTV
Lobo Baseball Vaults Into First Place After Crushing UNLV, 12-4
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/25/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 25, 2004

Box Score

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - The New Mexico baseball team vaulted into first place in the Mountain West race Sunday afternoon with a 12-4 thrashing of UNLV at Earl E. Wilson Stadium. The Lobos, winners of 10 of their last 12 MWC contests, took two of three games from the Rebels over the weekend to pass them in the league standings. UNM now sits atop the MWC with a 13-5 mark (17-20-1 overall), while UNLV slips to 12-5 (25-16 overall).

New Mexico once again displayed its offensive prowess in the series finale, slugging 18 hits, including five doubles and a homer. Seven Lobos collected at least two hits, and Josh Mader, Sean Murray and A.J. Spitaleri each tallied three. Spitaleri drove in three runs and scored twice, Mader registered two doubles and Murray also scored two runs. Joe Salas hit his seventh homer of the season and knocked in four runs.

Junior right-hander Cooper Eddy picked up his fourth win of the season with seven strong innings on the mound. Eddy (4-3) allowed two runs, one earned, and scattered six hits to go along with two strikeouts.

UNM was in control the entire game, quickly taking a 4-0 advantage after the first two innings. Salas had an RBI groundout in the first, followed by three Lobo runs in the second. Spitaleri and Mader each delivered run-scoring hits in the inning and Matt Young, who went 2-for-4 with two runs in the game, drove in a run on a groundout.

The score stayed the same until the seventh, as the Lobos broke the game open with five runs to take a commanding 9-0 lead. Salas smashed a two-run homer to start the scoring, while Spitaleri, Young and Jay Russell all had RBI hits. Russell was 2-for-4 with two runs in the game.

The Rebels got on the board with two runs in the seventh, but UNM got both runs back on Spitaleri's two-run double in the eighth. UNM added a run in the ninth on Salas RBI groundout. UNLV hit two solo homers in the ninth to make the final 12-4.

New Mexico returns to action Tuesday, April 27 to face Texas Tech in Lubbock at 6 p.m CDT. Live stats will be available at www.TexasTech.com.

Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Wednesday, May 21
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
Thursday, May 22
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News