No. 1 Lobos In Second After Day One At Nevada Invitational
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/19/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 19, 2010

SODA SPRINGS/TRUCKEE, Calif. --- The No. 1-ranked New Mexico ski team is currently in second place with 428 points after the first day of events at the University of Nevada Invitational. The Lobos are just 20.5 points behind No. 2-ranked Colorado, in the lead with 448.5 points, and 68 points ahead of No. 3-ranked Denver in third with 360 points.

Freshman Anne Cecilie Brusletto earned her second giant slalom win of the season and the Alpine men took five of the top-10 spots to keep UNM in contention for the meet title. Sophomore Petter Brenna, junior Thomas Schwab, and senior Olivier Lacaille finished 2-3-4, while freshmen Chriss Salbu and Chris Acosta placed 9-10 for 132 team points. For the women, freshman Kate Williams placed 15th, while sophomore Jacqueline Hangl pulled out a career-best 18th-place finish to put points on the board after senior Malin Hemmingsson hiked down on the second run. Hemmingsson was in fifth place following the first run.

The Nordic men might not have put up the eye-popping numbers in the day's 10-kilometer classical, but still managed to finish in second as a team with 99 points. Freshman Pierre Niess placed 4th, while junior Martin Kaas recorded a 9th-place finish and junior Simon Reissmann a 16th-place finish.

Senior Linn Klaesson and sophomore Ingrid Leask posted career-bests of 12th and 21st to put UNM second in the event with 95 points.

Competition continues on Saturday with the slalom and freestyle races at Sugar Bowl Ski Area and Auburn Ski Club.

Nevada Invitational Team Standings (after 4 events)
1. Colorado, 448.5; 2. New Mexico, 428; 3. Denver, 360; 4. Alaska-Anchorage, 356; 5. Utah, 352.5; 6. Montana State, 314.5; 7. Nevada, 306.5

New Mexico Individual Results

Men's Giant Slalom - 2. Petter Brenna, 2:03.19; 3. Thomas Schwab, 2:03.32; 4. Olivier Lacaille, 2:03.34; 9. Chriss Salbu, 2:04.17; 10. Chris Acosta, 2:04.41; 29. Gary Beresford, 2:09.36

Women's Giant Slalom - 1. Anne Cecilie Brusletto, 2:04.89; 15. Kate Williams 2:07.17; 18. Jacqueline Hangl, 2:07.97; 34. Malin Hemmingsson, 3:15.42

Men's Classic - 4. Eivind Solberg, 27:31.6; DNS - Tor-Hakon Hellebostad (ill)

Women's Classic - 2. Linn Klaesson, 14:38.3; 21. Ingrid Leask, 15:13.3