LoboTV
Baseball Comes Up Short Against Utah, 6-5
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/20/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 20, 2004

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The New Mexico baseball team scored three runs in the seventh and two in the eighth, but it wasn't enough as Utah outlasted the Lobos, 6-5, before a season-high crowd of 1,764 Saturday afternoon at Isotopes Park. UNM out-hit the Utes, 12-8, and four Lobos had at least two hits, including Josh Mader, who went 3-for-5 with two RBI and a stolen base.

After three scoreless innings to start the game, the Utes scored three runs in the fourth and two in the fifth to take a 5-0 lead.

The Lobos (4-12-1, 1-1 MWC) got things going in the bottom of the seventh, scoring three runs to cut the lead to 5-3. Matt Young hit a single through the right side to score Jay Russell, and Mader nailed a shot up the middle to plate Young and Ryan Barba.

The Utes (5-12, 1-1 MWC) countered with one run in the top of the eighth to make it 6-4.

In the eighth, the Lobos scored two runs on two bases-loaded walks. Young and Haymore walked back-to-back with the bases filled to cut the margin to one run. The rally was cut short when Mader ended the inning on a popout with the bases still loaded.

UNM couldn't muster a rally in the ninth off Ute reliever Clay Westmoreland, who picked up his second save of the season after firing two scoreless innings.

Freshman lefty Danny Ray Herrera (0-4) took the loss for the Lobos, giving up five runs, four earned, in five innings of work. Doug Mackay of Utah struck out eight in 6.2 innings to earn improve his record to 2-4.

The Lobos collected 12 hits in the game, but left 10 runners on base, including four in the last three innings. Young, Russell and Daniel Stovall each had two hits apiece.

New Mexico returns to action tomorrow to face Utah at 12 p.m. at Isotopes Park.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News