Lucas Reed named to 2011 Mackey award preseason list
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  07/06/2011
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

July 6, 2011

Bethpage, NY --- Lucas Reed, a junior who led the Lobos last year in yards per catch and touchdowns, has been named as one of 34 players to the 2011 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List, announced Bryan Revello of the Nassau County Sports Commission, which administrates the award and selection committee.

Reed is the second Lobo this summer to be placed on a national award watch list, as Dillon Farrell was named to the preseason Rimington Watch List, one of four MW athletes in consideration for the nation's top center award. Reed got on the national radar last season with a solid 33-reception year, along with five touchdowns and 459 yards in receiving yards. He also is one of two Mountain West tight ends on the list, joining Kyle Efaw from Boise State.

He earned a national award last year, being named Mackey Tight End of the Week after a terrific week against Wyoming, catching seven passes for 100 yards, including two touchdowns as UNM picked up a win over Wyoming 34-31. In that contest, his leaping one-handed catch while double-covered in the end zone was the No. 2 play on ESPN Sportscenter's "Top Plays".

Reed's five touchdown catches were nearly half of UNM's 11 touchdown receptions last year, and his 459 yards were second on the team. He did average a team-best 13.9 yard per catch. He led New Mexico in conference games in all receiving categories, including receptions (26), touchdowns (4), and yards (362).

The award is named for John Mackey, an NFL Hall of Fame member who is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists ten NFL players as alumni: Dallas Clark ('01) of the 2006 Super Bowl Champion Indianapolis Colts, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06), Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Aaron Hernandez ('09) of the New England Patriots and the 2010 John Mackey Award recipient D.J. Williams of the Green Bay Packers.

2011 Mackey Award Preseason Watch List

1 Dwayne Allen Clemson Jr
2 Brandon Barden Vanderbilt Sr
3 Tim Biere Kansas Sr
4 Ted Bolser Indiana So
5 George Bryan NC State Sr
6 Orson Charles Georgia Jr
7 Josh Chichester Louisville Sr
8 Jack Doyle WKU Jr
9 Drake Dunsmore Northwestern Sr
10 Kyle Efaw Boise State Sr
11 Michael Egnew Missouri Sr
12 Tyler Eifert Notre Dame So
13 Rhett Ellison USC Sr
14 Coby Fleener Stanford Sr
15 Ladarius Green Louisiana Sr
16 Ryan Griffin Connecticut Jr
17 Joe Halahuni Oregon State Sr
18 Cooper Helfet Duke Sr
19 DC Jefferson Rutgers Jr
20 Kevin Koger Michigan Sr
21 Eric Lair Minnesota Sr
22 Brian Linthicum Michigan State Sr
23 Phillip Lutzenkirchen Auburn Jr
24 Anthony Miller California Sr
25 Chris Pantale Boston College Jr
26 David Paulsen Oregon Sr
27 Colter Phillips Virginia Jr
28 Nick Provo Syracuse Sr
29 Lucas Reed New Mexico Jr
30 Kyler Reed Nebraska Jr
31 Evan Rodriguez Temple Sr
32 Jake Stoneburner Ohio State Jr
33 Michael Williams Alabama Jr
34 Luke Willson Rice Jr