LoboTV
0
0
0
0
Lobo Baseball Projected to Make NCAA Tournament Field
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/03/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 3, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The University of New Mexico baseball team is currently projected to make NCAA tournament as Mountain West champions, according to the website perfectgame.org. It is the fourth-straight year the Lobos have been projected in the field, and, if they succeed in making it in, it would be a school-record third-straight appearance.

"It is a great honor, but we still have a lot of work to do," UNM head coach Ray Birmingham said. "We're not where we want to be yet, but it is a great honor."

The Lobos are currently alone in first place in the Mountain West with a 5-1 conference record. The team has won its last four weekend series, including sweeps of previously undefeated and No. 22 Gonzaga, and Mountain West foe San Diego State. This past weekend the they took two of three games at 2008 national champion Fresno State. Prior to that they posted a two-games-to-one series victory over TCU. It was the first-ever home series win over TCU for the Lobos.

This season the Lobos will play 13 games against teams currently projected to be in the field: six against TCU, three against Gonzaga, and four against their opponent tonight, New Mexico State.

First pitch for the Lobos game in Las Cruces, N.M., against the Aggies is scheduled for 7:05 p.m. (MT). Sophomore RHP Alexis Garza will get th start for the Lobos. Following tonight's game, the Lobos travel to Colorado Springs, Colo., to continue MW play against Air Force.

Further details can be found here: Perfect Game 64: Projecting the NCAA Field

Sunday, April 26
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Friday, May 01
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, May 02
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Sunday, May 03
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, May 05
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at New Mexico State
Friday, May 08
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Saturday, May 09
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Sunday, May 10
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Tuesday, May 12
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Arizona State
Thursday, May 14
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Friday, May 15
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Saturday, May 16
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, May 20
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News