LoboTV
Lobo Baseball Projected to Make NCAA Tournament Field
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/03/2012
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 3, 2012

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The University of New Mexico baseball team is currently projected to make NCAA tournament as Mountain West champions, according to the website perfectgame.org. It is the fourth-straight year the Lobos have been projected in the field, and, if they succeed in making it in, it would be a school-record third-straight appearance.

"It is a great honor, but we still have a lot of work to do," UNM head coach Ray Birmingham said. "We're not where we want to be yet, but it is a great honor."

The Lobos are currently alone in first place in the Mountain West with a 5-1 conference record. The team has won its last four weekend series, including sweeps of previously undefeated and No. 22 Gonzaga, and Mountain West foe San Diego State. This past weekend the they took two of three games at 2008 national champion Fresno State. Prior to that they posted a two-games-to-one series victory over TCU. It was the first-ever home series win over TCU for the Lobos.

This season the Lobos will play 13 games against teams currently projected to be in the field: six against TCU, three against Gonzaga, and four against their opponent tonight, New Mexico State.

First pitch for the Lobos game in Las Cruces, N.M., against the Aggies is scheduled for 7:05 p.m. (MT). Sophomore RHP Alexis Garza will get th start for the Lobos. Following tonight's game, the Lobos travel to Colorado Springs, Colo., to continue MW play against Air Force.

Further details can be found here: Perfect Game 64: Projecting the NCAA Field

Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Tuesday, April 21
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:30 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
E-News