We Are The Champions Again!
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/17/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 17, 2004

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - With a 4-3 win over BYU today, the No. 66 New Mexico men's tennis team won its second consecutive Mountain West Conference regular season title. The Lobos went 5-0 in the regular season to claim sole posession of the championship. Last year, the Lobos shared the title with San Diego State and BYU, going 4-1.

Senior Divan Coetzee, ranked No. 27 nationally, won his 35th singles match of the season to set a new single season win record at UNM. Coetzee beat 50th-ranked Erik Nyman 4-6, 6-2, 6-1 at No. 1 to break Matt Amgwerd's record of 34 wins in 1999-2000. The win also leaves him 94-29 on his career. He needs two wins to tie Pepe Caballero's record of 96-56 for the most career wins at UNM.

Juniors David Kowalski and Ryan Stotland got the first two points for New Mexico after the Cougars claimed the doubles point. Kowalski beat Richard Dasek 6-3, 6-2 at No. 2 while Stotland cruised to a 6-2, 6-1 win over Chip Hand at No. 3.

After Coetzee earned the third win, it was senior Jasmin Hodzic who battled back from a first set loss to win the match for the Lobos and crown them conference champions. Hodzic downed Donimik Kaufhold 4-6, 6-2, 6-3 at No. 5.

The Lobos will travel to San Diego, Calif. for the Mountain West Conference Championships April 29-May 1. The Lobos will be the No. 1 seed in the tournament.