LoboTV
Lobos Fall To Cal Poly In Final Game At Vegas Tournament
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/19/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 19, 2006

Final Stats

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - Cal Poly defeated New Mexico 10-4 today in both teams' final game at the Louisville Slugger Desert Classic in Las Vegas, Nev. The Mustangs improved their record to 2-8 while the Lobos dropped to 1-9 on the season.

New Mexico scored all four of its runs in the second inning. Right fielder Ryanne Hodgins had an RBI single to give the Lobos their first run of the game. Second baseman Kristina Schmallen then stepped up to hit a three-run homer to make it her second home run of the tournament and fifth of the season.

Cal poly had runs in the first, second, fourth and sixth innings. Chelsea Green went 4-for-4 at the plate with 3 RBIs and a homer.

Hodgins and Schmallen each went 1-for-3 on the day with Schmallen collecting 3 RBIs and Hodgins one RBI.

Winning pitcher for Cal Poly was Robyn Kontra (1-4) who held New Mexico to four runs on four hits over seven innings of work. Starting Lobo pitcher Jen Mendenhall (1-5) took the loss for the Lobos, allowing six runs on eight hits in 1.2 innings.

New Mexico is back on the road Tuesday, Feb. 21 for a doubleheader against in-state rival New Mexico State in Las Cruces, N.M. Game one is set to start at 2 p.m. Then the Lobos head for El Paso, Texas for a weekend tournament hosted by UTEP.

Saturday, April 19
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Tuesday, April 22
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State (DH)
Wednesday, April 23
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News