No. 54 Lobos Upset No. 48 Aztecs 5-2
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/06/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 6, 2008

Complete Results in PDF FormatGet Acrobat Reader

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- The University of New Mexico men's tennis team grabbed a 5-2 upset over No. 48 San Diego State Sunday afternoon on Senior Day. The Lobos' won the nearly four-hour match by taking five of the six singles matches after the Aztecs won the doubles point. UNM improves to 16-6 overall, 3-0 in MWC action and finished 9-2 at home.

In doubles, Lobos' Johnny Parkes and Chris Parkes beat Achim Ceban and Tim Schulz van Endert 8-3 but the Aztecs returned to win on the remaining two courts. Max Jones and Kamil Pajkowski had a 3-2 lead but Bartosz Golas and Juan Gomez took over to win 8-6 in the No. 1 spot. Graeme Kassautzki and Joe Wood played many long points against Matan Shitrit and Andre Feliz and lead 3-1 but the Aztec pair won seven straight games taking the match 8-3.

New Mexico battled back to win on four straight singles courts and Wood added a fifth to end the match. Jones, ranked No. 41, did not lose a game against Shitrit at the No. 1 spot. Kassautzki defeated Ceban 6-0, 7-5 on the No. 3 court. Pajkowski battled Feliz at No. 5 and served up an ace to finish off with a 6-4, 7-5 victory.

Miles Bugby gave the Lobos the dual after dropping the first set against Gomez and returning with two sets to win 2-6, 7-5, 6-3. Johnny Parkes played three 7-5 sets against Golas with Golas taking the final two and the No. 2 spot. Wood lost his first set 6-3 and came back to win the match 3-6, 7-5, 6-3 for the fifth point.

The Lobos sent off three seniors, Max Jones, Kamil Pajkowski and Chris Parkes, who all played their final match at the Lobo Tennis Club. All three collected a victory in their final home match. Chris Parkes earned his win in singles while Jones and Pajkowski got theirs on the singles courts.

New Mexico travels to Provo, Utah for its final three regular season matches. They will take on UNLV, BYU and TCU starting April 10. The MWC Championship begins on April 23 in Fort Worth, Texas.