Jennifer Williams and Kelli Cornell Named MW Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  11/01/2011
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Nov. 1, 2011

Lobos Host MW Championship Friday

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.--- No surprise here. New Mexico senior speedster Jennifer Williams was named the Mountain West Offensive Player of The Year for the second straight season and Lobo junior keeper Kelli Cornell repeated as the league's Defensive Player of The Year.

Big surprise. New Mexico -- the regular-season champion, the No. 1 seed in this week's Mountain West Tournament to be played at the Lobos Soccer Complex, and the MW's only undefeated team in league play -- had only two players on the All-Mountain West First Team.

Of course, those Lobos were Williams and Cornell.

The postseason honors for women's soccer were handed out by a vote of the league's seven head coaches. There also was a mild surprise in the naming of the MW Coach of The Year as that honor went to the league's No. 3 team's coach, Danny Sanchez of Wyoming.

Two years in a row junior goalkeeper Kelli Cornell received the MW Defensive Player of the Year award

Williams was an easy choice for the coaches as she was the top goal-scorer in the Mountain, despite seeing double teams and hard-flying bodies all season. The 5-foot-3 Williams finished first in the league in points (13) and goals (6) through six regular-season conference games.

Cornell earned Mountain West Defensive Player of Year honors after pitching three shutouts during league play. The junior keeper allowed three total goals and posted a .857 save percentage in six league contests.

Wyoming matched UNM with two First Team selections and San Diego State, the league's 2011 runner-up, had five players on the First Team. The Aztecs tied UNM with seven total All-MWC players.

The Lobos might have been snubbed a bit on First Team selections, but the back-to-back league champions placed five players on the All-MW Second Team including junior forward Natalie Jenks, junior defender Lauren Irwin, sophomore defender Elizabeth Nare, and senior midfielders Jael Fanning and Zaneta Wyne.

All-MW First Team
**Jennifer Williams, Sr., F, UNM
**Cat Walker, RS Sr., MF, SDSU
*Kelli Cornell, Jr., GK, UNM
Katherine Orellana, Sr., F, UNLV
*Haley Palmer, So., D, SDSU
Tiffany Hurst, RS Jr., D/MF, SDSU
Allison Masumiya, Sr., D, WYO
Sara Paul, RS Fr., F, WYO
Sophie Metz, RS So., MF/D, SDSU
***Bridgett Murphy, Sr., F, AFA
Megan Jurado, Jr., F/MF, SDSU

All-MW Second Team
Natalie Jenks, Jr., F, UNM
Kayla Davis, Sr., MF, WYO
Caitlin Allen, Jr., D, UNLV
Macy Jo Harrison, RS Jr., MF, UNLV
Kory Spotts, So., D/MF, SDSU
Rachel Boaz, RS Fr., GK, SDSU
Lauren Irwin, Jr., D, UNM
**Jordan Calhoun, Sr., F, TCU
Elizabeth Nare, So., D, UNM
Jael Fanning, Sr., MF, UNM
Zaneta Wyne, Sr., MF, UNM

Offensive Player of the Year: Jennifer Williams, Sr., F, UNM
Defensive Player of the Year: Kelli Cornell, Jr., GK, UNM
Freshman of the Year: Sara Paul, RS Fr., F, WYO
Coach of the Year: Danny Sanchez, WYO

*two-time selection **three-time selection ***four-time selection

Monday, August 17
7:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
vs. Fort Lewis (exhibition)
Friday, August 21
5:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
at USC vs. Texas Tech
7:30 PM - 
Women's Soccer
vs. Florida State
Sunday, August 23
10:30 AM - 
Women's Soccer
at USC vs. Florida State
1:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
vs. Texas Tech
Wednesday, August 26
6:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
at New Mexico State
Sunday, August 30
1:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
at Colorado