LoboTV
Brownstein and Cavazos-Galvez Named All-American by Ping Baseball
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  06/05/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

June 5, 2009

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- University of New Mexico seniors Mike Brownstein and Brian Cavazos-Galvez have been named to the 2009 All-Ping!Baseball Teams. The teams are selected by the staff of www.pingbaseball.com. Brownstein, the 2009 Mountain West Conference Player of the Year, was named to the second team, while Cavazos-Galvez, a two-time all-MWC first team selection, was named honorable mention.

Brownstein, already selected as a 2009 Louisville Slugger Second Team All-American, finished his senior season hitting .414 with 101 hits, 23 doubles and 11 triples. The Tucson, Ariz., native also scored 72 runs, drove in 49 runs, walked 34 times and stole 20 bases. Brownstein started all 57 games in 2009, leading off and playing second in every Lobo game. A two-time all-Mountain West Conference honoree, Brownstein will end his Lobo career on the UNM all-time season hits (101) and triples (11) list. In early May, Brownstein also was recognized for his work in the classroom when he was named to the ESPN the Magazine Academic All-District VI second team. Brownstein was named MWC Player of the Week on March 16.

Cavazos-Galvez, the Lobos' starting right fielder, finished his senior season hitting .392 with 64 runs scored and 85 hits. The Albuquerque native led the Lobos in home runs (15), RBI (63), and slugging (.737). He was one of five Lobos to finish the regular season hitting .400 or better. Cavazos-Galvez was named MWC Player of the Week, Louisville Slugger National Player of the Week and CollegeBaseballInsider.com National Player of the Week on May 18.

Both players along with several other Lobos are anticipating a call to the professional ranks during the 2009 MLB Draft, June 9-11.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News