LoboTV
Lobos Fall to UNLV, 15-6
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/15/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 15, 2008

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. -- The University of New Mexico baseball team's bats were not quite as loud as UNLV's as the Lobos fell, 15-6, Saturday afternoon at Isotopes Park. The Lobos were out-hit 20-14 and are now 8-8 overall and 0-2 in the MWC.

After the Rebels (9-7, 2-0 MWC) put up a run in the first and second, UNM grabbed the lead in the bottom of the third, 3-2. With two outs, Mike Brownstein walked. Right fielder Bobby Moore followed with a double to left to score Brownstein. Moore would come around to score on a Kevin Atkinson single up the middle two batters later. Atkinson finished the game with two hits and an RBI.

The Lobo lead would be short-lived, however, as the Rebels batted through the order and seven consecutive batters crossed home plate giving the Rebels a 9-3 lead in the fourth. The only other runs for the Lobos would be one in the fifth, sixth and seventh. UNLV would go on to add three in both the top of the fifth and seventh innings.

Moore continued to swing a hot bat at the plate. He went 2-for-3 with a double and an RBI in his second outfield start. First baseman Coty Wilson and designated hitter Rafael Neda contributed three hits and an RBI each.

The loss went to lefty Bobby LaFromboise (2-2) who pitched 3.2. innings, surrendering seven hits and five earned runs. Will Kerr, Adam Skelton, and John Hesketh allowed only three earned runs in relief work, but nine runs overall.

Rebel freshman Thomas Whitsett (2-0) pitched five innings of four-run ball to get the win.

The series wraps up Sunday, March 16, with a 1 p.m. start at Isotopes Park.

Saturday, March 28
1 - 8 (L)
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News