LoboTV
Shaunte Duarte Named MWC Softball Player of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/24/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 24, 2009

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. --- New Mexico junior third baseman Shaunte Duarte has been named Mountain West Conference Softball Player of the Week. Duarte earns her first weekly honor and becomes the first Lobo selection this season.

Duarte, who hails from La Habra, Calif., hit .700 in four games last weekend and had three multi-hit games in the Lobo Invitational in Albuquerque, N.M. The junior started in each of New Mexico's four games, going 7-for-10 at the plate with six runs scored, two doubles, four walks and four RBI. She had an on-base percentage of .786 and a slugging percentage of .900 in games vs. Wisconsin, Drake and Texas Tech (2). In the Lobos' tournament closer vs. the Red Raiders, Duarte went 2-for-3 with a double, two runs scored and four RBI. She also made a driving play at third base in the seventh inning to help New Mexico hold on to an 11-8 victory.

Duarte is in her first season at New Mexico after transferring from Yavapai College in Arizona.

Friday, March 27
5 - 6 (L)
Softball
at UNLV
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at UNLV
Sunday, March 29
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at UNLV
Thursday, April 02
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Friday, April 03
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, April 04
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, April 07
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, April 08
11:00 AM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Friday, April 10
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Saturday, April 11
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Sunday, April 12
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Softball
at New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
E-News