Tuohy Named Third Team Freshman All-American
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  12/07/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Dec. 7, 2004

The Sporting News 2004 Freshman All-America teams were released today with University of New Mexico defensive end Michael Tuohy earning third team honors. Tuohy, a redshirt freshman, ranked among the top-10 in the Mountain West Conference with 10.5 tackles for loss and 6.5 sacks in 10 games, including 4 starts. The Moreno Valley, Calif. native is the second Lobo defensive linemen to earn freshman All-America honors, joining Buddy Billingsley who was a second team pick by Football News in 1993.

New Mexico has had at least one Freshman All-American for four straight years. Offensive guard Robert Turner was named to the Football Writers Association of America All-Freshman Team in 2003, while punter Tyler Gaus was a third team selection by The Sporting News in 2002. Offensive lineman Claude Terrell and linebacker Nick Speegle were both honored in 2001. Terrell was named to the FWAA All-Freshman Team, while Speegle was a third team choice by The Sporting News.

Tuohy also tallied 27 tackles, two forced fumbles, seven quarterback hurries and a pass deflection during the regular season. In back-to-back UNM road wins at Colorado State (Oct. 30) and BYU (Nov. 13), he recorded five sacks, six tackles for loss and a forced fumble.

2004 TSN Freshman All-American teams

*denotes true freshman

First team


WR Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech*

WR Dwayne Jarrett, USC*

TE Zach Miller, Arizona State*

L (T) Jake Long, Michigan

L (T) Barry Ricahrdson, Clemson*

L (T) Sam Baker, USC

L (G) Charlston Gray, North Carolina

L (G) Will Arnold, LSU

QB Chad Henne, Michigan*

RB Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma*

RB Jamario Thomas, North Texas*


L (E) Quentin Groves, Auburn

L (E) Jason Jack, Texas A

L (T) Franklin Okam, Texas*

L (T) Red Bryant, Texas A

LB Brandon Siler, Florida*

LB Dan Connor, Penn State*

LB Brian Toal, Boston College*

DB (CB) Roshaun Fellows, Tennessee

DB (FS) Ko Simpson, South Carolina*

DB (CB) Antoine Cason, Arizona*

DB (CB) Darrelle Revis, Pittsburgh*


K Alexis Serna, Oregon State

P Chris MacDonald, Arizona State

KR Ted Ginn, Ohio State*

Second team


WR Austin Collie, BYU*

WR Todd Blythe, Iowa State

TE Andrew Mooney, New Mexico State*

L (G) Roy Schuening, Oregon State

L (G/C) Jeff Byers, USC*

L (G) Peter Graniello, Arizona

L (T) Steve Rehring, Ohio State*

L (G) Andrew Crummey, Maryland

QB Erik Ainge, Tennessee*

RB Michael Hart, Michigan*

RB Adell Givens, Ball State*


L (E) Stanley McClover, Auburn

L (E) Wallace Gilberry, Alabama

L (E) Lawrence Jackson, USC

L (T) Tony Jenkins, Syracuse

LB Jordon Dizon, Colorado*

LB Jonathan Abbate, Wake Forest

LB Josh Williams, Arkansas State

DB (CB) Jonathan Hefney, Tennessee*

DB (FS) Anthony Reddick, Miami*

DB (S) Japhus Brown, Texas A

DB (CB) Ryan Smith, Utah


K Chris Nendick, Northern Illinois*

P Jay Ottovegio, Stanford

KR Kevin Robinson, Utah State*

Third team


WR Kevin Robinson, Utah State*

WR Ernie Wheelwright, Minnesota

TE Kory Sperry, Colorado State*

L (C) Robbie Krutilla, Western Michigan*

L (T) Matt Brim, Wake Forest*

L (G) Shannon Tevaga, UCLA*

L (G) Ryan Wendell, Fresno State*

L (C) Chris Yoder, Texas A

QB Bret Meyer, Iowa State

RB Marshawn Lynch, California*

RB Darius Walker, Notre Dame*


L (E) Michael Tuohy, New Mexico

L (E) Chris Ellis, Virginia Tech

L (E) Jesse Nading, Colorado State

LB Jeremy Engstrom, Nevada

LB Vince Hall, Virginia Tech

LB Thomas Keith, Central Michigan

LB Garry Pack, Mississippi*

DB (SS) Danny Verpaele, South Florida*

DB (CB) Nigel Morris, Toledo

DB (CB) Jackie Bates, Oregon*

DB (FS) Quintin Demps, UTEP


K Jermey Ito, Rutgers*

P Ben Woods, Buffalo*

KR Chris Davis, Duke*