Hadfield Named AVCA West Region Honorable Mention
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  12/09/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Dec. 9, 2009

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- Junior Taylor Hadfield was named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-West Region Team today. The right-side hitter from Corte Madera, Calif., received honorable mention. It is the second year in a row that a Lobo volleyball player has made the all-region team (Jeanne Fairchild, 2008) and the 13th regional honor for a Lobo player.

Said Hadfield, "That's so cool! What a great honor! This is a great accomplishment because of the hard work and support of my teammates. I do not get any of these individual honors by myself."

Hadfield was one of three Lobos to earn All-Mountain West Conference honors in late November. She led the Lobos in kills per set for the majority of the season, finishing the year with 2.63. A primary front row player for UNM, Hadfield improved her single-match career marks throughout the season. She had a career-high 21 kills against Colorado State on Oct. 24, passing her previous mark of 16 against Utah on Oct. 10 and Pittsburgh on Sept. 12.

New Mexico finished the season 20-10 and in third place in the Mountain West Conference with a league record of 10-6. UNM also made its first trip to the NCAA Tournament since 1994.

Lobo All-Region Honorees
1990 - Pauline Manser (1st team); Maria Gurreri (2nd team); Sharon Browning (2nd team); Laurel Brassey (Coach of the Year)
1991 - Sharon Browning (1st team); Pauline Manser (1st team)
1992 - Sharon Browning (1st team)
1993 - Tania Gooley (1st team); Laurel Luman (1st team)
1994 - Tania Gooley (2nd team); Robyn Wentworth (2nd team)
1995 - Alicia Bergmann (1st team)
2008 - Jeanne Fairchild (1st team)
2009 - Taylor Hadfield (honorable mention)

2009 AVCA All-West Region
Katelin Batten, Colorado State University, DS/Lib., Sr.
Aneli Cubi-Otineru, University of Hawai'i, OH, Sr.
Kanani Danielson, University of Hawai'i, OH, So.
Jennah Devries, New Mexico State University, S, So.
Kourtney Edwards, Texas Christian University, MB, Sr.
Christy Hudson, Texas Christian University, RS/Opp., Jr.
Amber Kauffman, University of Hawai'i, MB, Sr.
Dani Mafua, University of Hawai'i, S, Jr.
Danielle Minch, Colorado State University, OH, Jr.
Megan Munce, Texas Christian University, S, So.
Megan Plourde, Colorado State University, MB, Fr.
Rebecca Saraceno, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara, OH, Sr.
Dana Vargas, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara, S, Jr.
Naomi Washington, Long Beach State University, OH, Sr.

Region Freshman of the Year: Kayla Neto, Cal State Fullerton, MB

Honorable Mention: Kari Pestolesi (UC Irvine, OH, Jr.), Karolina Bartkowiak (Utah, RS/Opp. , Jr.), Kayla Neto (Cal State Fullerton, MB, Fr.), Caitlin Ledoux (Long Beach State, OH, So.), Juliane Piggot (UC Irvine, OH, Jr.), Taylor Hadfield (New Mexico, RS/Opp., Jr.)

Saturday, August 22
7:00 PM - 
vs. Alumnae (Exhibition)
Friday, August 28
8:00 AM - 
at Belmont
3:00 PM - 
at Albany