LoboTV
Lobo Baseball Crushes Utah, 15-4
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/08/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 8, 2004

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Junior shortstop Josh Mader went 3-for-5 with three runs and four RBI and homered twice in the nine-run Lobo third inning as the New Mexico baseball team crushed Utah, 15-4, Thursday afternoon at Ute Field. The Lobos improve to 7-3 in the Mountain West (11-18-1 overall), while Utah falls to 7-18 (2-6 MWC).

The Lobos pounded out 16 hits in the win, keyed by a nine-run third inning on seven hits. Mader, the second batter of the inning, hit a solo shot to left-center to start the onslaught. Joe Salas then scored on a double by Sean Murray, and Jeff Grady hit a sacrifice fly to plate Murray. Freshman Matt Foote, who went 2-for-4 with a season-high four RBI in the game, knocked in his first two runs on a double. Ryan Barba also added a run-scoring single. Then, with runners on first and third, Mader hit his second homer of the inning, a three-run blast to left field.

UNM plated four more runs in the fourth inning to go up 15-0. Foote drove in two more runs on a single, Young hit his league-leading seventh triple to bring in a run, and Barba again hit an RBI single. Barba went 3-for-5 in the contest with two runs and two RBI.

Salas, Murray, Foote and Daniel Stovall all collected two hits.

Right-hander Jason Fernandez (4-3) threw seven innings to pick up his fourth win of the year, scattering seven hits while allowing three runs. Jason Price of Utah fell to 2-5 for the season.

The Lobos scored two unearned runs in the first to take an early 2-0 lead before they put the game out of reach in the third.

Utah scored one run each in the fourth, fifth, sixth and ninth innings.

New Mexico returns to action tomorrow to face Utah at 2 p.m The series concludes Saturday at 12 p.m.

Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Wednesday, May 21
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
Thursday, May 22
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News