LoboTV
0
0
0
0
Lobo Baseball to Host Lobo Baseball Golf Invitational
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  08/07/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Aug. 7, 2008

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- University of New Mexico baseball coach Ray Birmingham and friends are hosting the Lobo Baseball Team Golf Invitational on Saturday, Aug. 23 at Chamisa Hills Country Club. The event is taking place to help the Lobos fundraise for the upcoming season and begins with a luncheon at 12 p.m., followed by a shotgun start at 1 p.m.

Birmingham is looking to build on the baseball team's success during his first year at the helm. UNM finished its 2008 campaign with a 34-25 record and the No. 2 seed in the Mountain West Conference Tournament, finishing one game away from qualifying for the NCAA Tournament. The all-Mountain West teams included eight Lobos and two, Bobby LaFromboise and Scott Gracey, were drafted in the 2008 Major League Baseball Draft. Rafael Neda, a Freshman All-American, became the first Lobo to be named MWC Freshman of the Year.

The tournament features a long-drive contest, closest-to-the-pin contest, as well as other prizes, such as a mulligan ticket drawing after the round. Tournament registration starts at $100.00 per person and $400.00 for a four-person team reservation. Each reservation includes lunch, greens fees and cart, refreshments on the course and hors d'oerves at the completion of the tournament. Tournament sponsorship opportunities range from $100-500. The Chamisa Hills Country Club is located at 500 Country Club Drive SE in Rio Rancho, N.M. For more information about the tournament, or about joining the UNM Dugout Club, please contact the UNM baseball office at (505) 925-5720 or the Lobo Club at (505) 925-5014.

Saturday, April 18
10 - 8 (W)
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Tuesday, April 21
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:30 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Saturday, April 25
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Sunday, April 26
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Friday, May 01
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, May 02
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Sunday, May 03
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, May 05
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at New Mexico State
Friday, May 08
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Saturday, May 09
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Sunday, May 10
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Tuesday, May 12
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Arizona State
Thursday, May 14
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
E-News